The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameservers won't resolve

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by BluesBrother, Jan 1, 2016.

  1. BluesBrother

    BluesBrother Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Istanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    This is a: CENTOS 6.7 i686 kvm – server WHM 11.52.1 (build 3) [TRIAL]

    The problem is on my KVM VPS I decided to use nameservers:
    ns3.mydomain.com
    ip: 185.xx.xx.xx

    ns4.mydomain.com
    ip: 81.xx.xx.xx

    - registered hosts at godaddy with the new ip addresses three days ago.
    - I have added A entries in DNS for both NS IP's
    - IntoDNS shows correct NS and IP's for a test domain hosted on the machine, but the website wont resolve.
    - IntoDNS shows wrong IP (208.xx.xx.xx) for ns3.mydomain.com

    Both VPS nameservers are assigned other IP's (208.xx.xx.xx) in WHM and websites wont open with the new NS3 and NS4 set.
    When I try "Assign IP Address" in "Basic cPanel & WHM Setup" It assigns (208.xx.xx.xx) ip

    Any assistance will be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,
    Please check if there is separate zone files for the ns3 and ns4. If yes then you can change the IP under the zone file.

    Maybe this thread helpful for you:
    How To change NameServer Ip ?
     
  3. Eric

    Eric Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What do you have in hostnames under your GoDaddy account? GD-DNS-01.PNG
     
  4. BluesBrother

    BluesBrother Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Istanbul
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the replies,

    A cpanel tech examined the server and said: "The hosts that you setup with godaddy (ns3 and ns4.mydomain.com) are either not setup properly, or are not pointed to the correct IPs listed above. The server itself is responding as it should."

    I double checked Host names @ Godaddy and they were correct. So I contacted Godaddy support, after whatever they did now nameservers and websites resolve fine. Except "NS Record Report" and "Assign IP" at cPanel still show wrong IP's (208.xx.xx.xx) :) I believe that is a bug.

    Thanks again
     
    #4 BluesBrother, Jan 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2016
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. Note the "NS Record Report" does not always reflect the status of your server's functional and in-use nameservers or domains. This report returns information based on the server's local DNS zones, as well as localhost lookups of those records. The following thread offers steps on how to verify your name servers are configured correctly:

    [Tutorial] Nameserver configuration on cPanel servers

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page