The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by salesnoob, Jul 6, 2004.

  1. salesnoob

    salesnoob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    im confused do i set the name server to what ever i like ie dns1.mydomain.com and then set the domains to point to that name server i created ? or do i need to register the name server ?
     
  2. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
  3. salesnoob

    salesnoob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes dont really help
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    The answer is yes. I am sorry it doesn't help you.
     
  5. Jaime

    Jaime Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Palma de Mallorca
    Yes, you have to register dns1.yourdomain.com and dns2.yourdomain as nameservers within your registar's control panel and then point your domains to dns1.yourdomain.com and dns2.yourdomain.com when you're sure they're working right.
     
    #5 Jaime, Jul 6, 2004
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2004
  6. salesnoob

    salesnoob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok thanx how od i register the nameserver with the registrar ? i know i sound dumb , but i dont see the option , only to change the nameservers on ny domain
     
  7. sjat

    sjat Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It´s different from registrar to registrar, so you better ask the support there ;)
     
  8. dianaward

    dianaward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try looking for

    something called "Host Records". One of the registrars I use calls it that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page