The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameservers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by LiquidBlueX.net, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. LiquidBlueX.net

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, here's my deal... We just had our dedicated server setup (after a VERY long wait, long story). I have everything setup in WHM and such... My only problem is nameservers. Now, our main site will be hostingxp.net. My question is how do we setup nameservers for it?

    Second question, how do we setup private nameservers for reseller clients? I want every reseller's NS to have the same IP, so I want the IP to be shared. How would we go about doing this?

    Thanks,
    Jordan
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    1.go to your registar and and register your nameservers ns 1 asign an ip for it (can be your Main server ip) & ns 2 asign another ip

    2 activate nameservers in WHM

    3. change you nameservers in Set up in whm and enter A records

    Done


    Reseller nameservers

    1 repeat step one

    2 set resellers nameservers in WHM reseller center
     
  3. milla247

    milla247 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    it should be FREE some regestars do not allow you to. who are you with ?
     
  5. demomen

    demomen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    With my Resellers they are just normal when creating there account do I have to add
    my nameservers for the main server in Reseller Centre?

    Because it seems to work still if I don't add them?
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if you leave them blank in reseller center they will go to your nameservers in your main set up
     
Loading...

Share This Page