multivol

Active Member
Sep 1, 2002
25
0
151
Hi listend

Ive put some x' in the ips for privacy.

I did a start from shh. Im wondering why what i did wrong in whm to get this:


[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.37:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.37:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.40:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.40:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts



---

Also could this be why my server has high ram usage?
server has 512ram, it starts off at about 20%-25% and at the end of the day its like 80% and few hours later 95%.

It only has 2 small sites on it that arent even in real use yet, just testing.

The cpu load is around 0.0 - 0.05 and hasnt really changed.


(Sorry im newbie)
 

itf

Well-Known Member
May 9, 2002
624
0
316
[quote:a4937c36a1][i:a4937c36a1]Originally posted by multivol[/i:a4937c36a1]

Hi listend

Ive put some x' in the ips for privacy.

I did a start from shh. Im wondering why what i did wrong in whm to get this:


[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.37:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.37:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.40:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.40:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts



---

Also could this be why my server has high ram usage?
server has 512ram, it starts off at about 20%-25% and at the end of the day its like 80% and few hours later 95%.

It only has 2 small sites on it that arent even in real use yet, just testing.

The cpu load is around 0.0 - 0.05 and hasnt really changed.


(Sorry im newbie)[/quote:a4937c36a1]
check out your httpd.conf in a root ssh session:
pico /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
 

multivol

Active Member
Sep 1, 2002
25
0
151
heres some of it..


NameVirtualHost 64.x.x.x:80


&VirtualHost x.x.x.x78&
ServerAdmin [email protected]
DocumentRoot /home/myusername/public_html
BytesLog domlogs/mycontactdomain.org-bytes_log
User myname
Group myname
ServerName www.mycontactdomain.org
ServerAlias mycontactdomain.org www.mycontactdomain.org
CustomLog domlogs/mycontactdomain.org combined
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/mycontactname/public_html/cgi-bin/

&/VirtualHost&


NameVirtualHost x.x.x.x78:80

&VirtualHost x.x.x.x78&
BytesLog domlogs/mycontactname.mycontactdomain.org-bytes_log
User mycontactname
Group mycontactname
ServerName mycontactname.mycontactdomain.org
ServerAlias www.mycontactname.mycontactdomain.org
ServerAdmin [email protected]
DocumentRoot /home/mycontactname/public_html/mycontactname
CustomLog domlogs/mycontactname.mycontactdomain.org combined
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/mycontactname/public_html/mycontactname/cgi-bin/
User mycontactname
Group mycontactname
&/VirtualHost&

&VirtualHost x.x.x.x78&
ServerAlias www.generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com
ServerAdmin [email protected]
DocumentRoot /home/demo/public_html
BytesLog domlogs/generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com-bytes_log
User demo
Group demo
ServerName www.generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/demo/public_html/cgi-bin/
CustomLog domlogs/generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com combined
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/demo/public_html/cgi-bin/
&/VirtualHost&




Can you tell me what the syntax is suppose or what it should look like?

Thanks.!
 

itf

Well-Known Member
May 9, 2002
624
0
316
in httpd.conf

find the first:
[quote:05210cb671]NameVirtualHost server-ip:80[/quote:05210cb671][quote:05210cb671]
NameVirtualHost server-ip:80
[b:05210cb671]
&VirtualHost server-ip&
...
&/VirtualHost&
[/b:05210cb671]
[/quote:05210cb671]
remove any other:
NameVirtualHost server-ip:80

[b:05210cb671]
Unless a NameVirtualHost directive is used for a specific IP address the first virtualhost with that address is treated as an IP-based virtualhost.

If name-based virtual hosts should be used a NameVirtualHost directive must appear with the IP address set to be used for the name-based virtualhosts. In other words, you must specify the IP address that holds the hostname aliases (CNAMEs) for your name-based virtualhosts via a NameVirtualHost directive in your configuration file.

Multiple NameVirtualHost directives can be used each with a set of VirtualHost directives but only one NameVirtualHost directive should be used for each specific IP : port pair.

In other word, you should not have duplicates of a NameVirtualHost directive in httpd.conf
[/b:05210cb671]
 

haze

Well-Known Member
Dec 21, 2001
1,550
3
318
I got this from apache.org and thought it would be handy: I upgraded to Apache 1.3 and now my virtual hosts don't work!
In versions of Apache prior to 1.3b2, there was a lot of confusion regarding address-based virtual hosts and (HTTP/1.1) name-based virtual hosts, and the rules concerning how the server processed &VirtualHost& definitions were very complex and not well documented.

Apache 1.3b2 introduced a new directive, NameVirtualHost, which simplifies the rules quite a bit. However, changing the rules like this means that your existing name-based &VirtualHost& containers probably won't work correctly immediately following the upgrade.

To correct this problem, add the following line to the beginning of your server configuration file, before defining any virtual hosts:

NameVirtualHost n.n.n.n
Replace the &n.n.n.n& with the IP address to which the name-based virtual host names resolve; if you have multiple name-based hosts on multiple addresses, repeat the directive for each address.

Make sure that your name-based &VirtualHost& blocks contain ServerName and possibly ServerAlias directives so Apache can be sure to tell them apart correctly.

Please see the Apache Virtual Host documentation for further details about configuration
 

moronhead

Well-Known Member
Aug 12, 2001
706
0
316
[quote:a812c605ce][i:a812c605ce]Originally posted by multivol[/i:a812c605ce]

[Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
[/quote:a812c605ce]
Basically find out if there are any duplicates of this line in your httpd.conf file and remove all the duplicates EXCEPT the first one. So you should have just one occurence of NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80.

NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Keep the 1st one
NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Delete the duplicates
NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Delete the duplicates
.................................

Repeat the same for your other IP addresses. Then restart apache.

I'm not sure why itf advised you to remove all the NameVirtualHost lines. Don't do that until itf explains the reasoning behind his thinking. :)
 

itf

Well-Known Member
May 9, 2002
624
0
316
[quote:c681afbd3a][i:c681afbd3a]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:c681afbd3a]
Basically find out if there are any duplicates of this line in your httpd.conf file and remove all the duplicates EXCEPT the first one. So you should have just one occurence of NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80.

NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Keep the 1st one
NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Delete the duplicates
NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Delete the duplicates
.................................

Repeat the same for your other IP addresses. Then restart apache.

I'm not sure why itf advised you to remove all the NameVirtualHost lines. Don't do that until itf explains the reasoning behind his thinking. :)[/quote:c681afbd3a]
Moronhead,

I answered generally for the public
I wrote &remove [b:c681afbd3a]any other[/b:c681afbd3a] namevertualhost& it doesn't mean all of namevirtualhosts

But you are right it's better to explain in-depth ; may be I have to refine my post:

Unless a NameVirtualHost directive is used for a specific IP address the first virtualhost with that address is treated as an IP-based virtualhost.

If name-based virtual hosts should be used a NameVirtualHost directive must appear with the IP address set to be used for the name-based virtualhosts. In other words, you must specify the IP address that holds the hostname aliases (CNAMEs) for your name-based virtualhosts via a NameVirtualHost directive in your configuration file. (httpd.conf)

Multiple NameVirtualHost directives can be used each with a set of VirtualHost directives but only one NameVirtualHost directive should be used for each specific IP : port pair.
But, you should not have duplicates of a NameVirtualHost directive in httpd.conf
 

moronhead

Well-Known Member
Aug 12, 2001
706
0
316
itf, thanks for editing and removing the incorrect information you had in your first post. That would have resulted in name-based virtual hosts to stop functioning had multivol (or any other newbie for that matter) applied your suggestions. :(

The majority of the solutions that you offer in this forum are otherwise excellent. :)
 

itf

Well-Known Member
May 9, 2002
624
0
316
[quote:0b08cf54d1][i:0b08cf54d1]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:0b08cf54d1]

itf, thanks for editing and removing the incorrect information you had in your first post. That would have resulted in name-based virtual hosts to stop functioning had multivol (or any other newbie for that matter) applied your suggestions. :(

The majority of the solutions that you offer in this forum are otherwise excellent. :)
[/quote:0b08cf54d1]
Moronhead,

Thanks but I haven't removed the structure just refined with adding up some texts,

When you have namevirtual host directive you have to have VirtualHost blocks too in a clear system with no accounts:
You have at least:

NameVirtualHost main-server-ip:80
&VirtualHost main-server-ip&
BytesLog domlogs/host.serverdomain.com-bytes_log
ServerName host.serverdomain.com
DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
&/VirtualHost&

I wrote remove [b:0b08cf54d1]any other[/b:0b08cf54d1] NameVirtualHost ip:80 for that user because he sent his httpd.conf by email to me and just his main server ip address was duplicated (as you can see in his second post too)

However it has the same meaning that you wrote, you can replace ip (in my post -as a variable-) with whatever ip that available in the httpd.conf then the result could put newbies in trouble

This is why I added some descriptions and refined what I posted to fit public needs

again Thanks for your hints,

Unless a NameVirtualHost directive is used for a specific IP address the first virtualhost with that address is treated as an IP-based virtualhost.

If name-based virtual hosts should be used a NameVirtualHost directive must appear with the IP address set to be used for the name-based virtualhosts. In other words, you must specify the IP address that holds the hostname aliases (CNAMEs) for your name-based virtualhosts via a NameVirtualHost directive in your configuration file. (httpd.conf)

Multiple NameVirtualHost directives can be used each with a set of VirtualHost directives but only one NameVirtualHost directive should be used for each specific IP : port pair.
But, you should not have duplicates of a NameVirtualHost directive in httpd.conf
 

moronhead

Well-Known Member
Aug 12, 2001
706
0
316
[quote:e677385042][i:e677385042]Quotes originally posted by itf[/i:e677385042]

Thanks but I haven't removed the structure just refined with adding up some texts.[/quote:e677385042]What you originally suggested (ie. before editing/changing your first post) was to chuck out all the NameVirtualHost directives in httpd.conf except the one for the server IP. That is incorrect UNLESS you have just 1 IP bound to your server and you have ALL your name-based hosts on the server IP.

Multivol has quoted errors for 4 IP addresses in his first post. In his second post he states that what he was quoting was &some of it&.


[quote:e677385042][However it has the same meaning that you wrote, you can replace ip (in my post -as a variable-) with whatever ip that available in the httpd.conf[/quote:e677385042]It would have been helpful if you'd made this clear in your first post. ;-)


[quote:e677385042]NameVirtualHost main-server-ip:80
&VirtualHost main-server-ip&
BytesLog domlogs/host.serverdomain.com-bytes_log
ServerName host.serverdomain.com
DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
&/VirtualHost&[/quote:e677385042]Actually you don't have to or need to create a VirtualHost for host.serverdomain.com. httpd.conf should already contain the ServerName and DocumentRoot information for the host somewhere in the file.
 

hostbet

Well-Known Member
Aug 13, 2001
80
0
306
I have the same problem and there is not duplicates in the httpd.conf file.

what do you mean?
\&VirtualHost main-server-ip\&

or is:
&VirtualHost main-server-ip&
 

itf

Well-Known Member
May 9, 2002
624
0
316
[quote:e40172134e][i:e40172134e]Originally posted by hostbet[/i:e40172134e]

I have the same problem and there is not duplicates in the httpd.conf file.

what do you mean?
\&VirtualHost main-server-ip\&

or is:
&VirtualHost main-server-ip&[/quote:e40172134e]

&VirtualHost ip&
is correct, it seems moronhead has a typo in quotation
Read the thread from the beginning again
thanks
 

multivol

Active Member
Sep 1, 2002
25
0
151
Yes thanks for that, restarted apache from console, all good, no errors shown :)

Thanks for helping :)


[quote:81ac4d4f45]
8:10am up 10:01, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
63 processes: 61 sleeping, 2 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
CPU states: 2.0% user, 0.3% system, 0.0% nice, 97.5% idle
Mem: 512352K av, 469368K used, 42984K free, 0K shrd, 122608K buff
Swap: 522072K av, 0K used, 522072K free 179816K cached

PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND
15662 root 15 0 1024 1024 820 R 1.9 0.1 0:00 top
1 root 15 0 480 480 416 S 0.0 0.0 0:06 init
2 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 keventd
3 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kapmd
4 root 34 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:00 ksoftirqd_CPU0
5 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kswapd
6 root 25 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 bdflush
7 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kupdated
8 root 16 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 mdrecoveryd
12 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kjournald
133 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kjournald
134 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:01 kjournald
481 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 eth0
888 root 15 0 548 548 460 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 syslogd
893 root 15 0 448 448 388 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 klogd
1040 nobody 15 0 1236 1236 952 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 proftpd
1058 root 16 0 1220 1220 1088 S 0.0 0.2 0:01 sshd
1091 root 15 0 904 904 716 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 xinetd
1109 root 15 0 1344 1344 1152 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 antirelayd
1127 root 16 0 2604 2604 1404 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 chkservd
1161 root 34 19 3132 3132 1488 S N 0.0 0.6 0:00 cpanellogd
1163 root 16 0 3108 3108 1972 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 cpaneld
1171 root 15 0 2868 2868 1884 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 webmaild
1177 root 15 0 3820 3820 2300 S 0.0 0.7 0:00 cppop
1182 nobody 17 0 2012 2012 1344 S 0.0 0.3 0:00 entropychat
1187 nobody 17 0 584 584 356 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 melange
1202 root 15 0 4872 4872 4708 S 0.0 0.9 0:05 httpd
1214 root 16 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
1216 root 17 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
1218 root 17 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
1220 cpanel 17 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
1222 cpanel 15 0 1928 1928 1332 S 0.0 0.3 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
1224 cpanel 15 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
1283 root 15 0 3172 3172 2012 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 whostmgrd
1342 root 15 0 620 620 536 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 crond
1343 named 17 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 named
1345 named 15 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 named
1346 named 15 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:01 named
1347 named 15 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 named
1348 named 15 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 named
1359 root 16 0 1156 1156 960 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 safe_mysqld
1397 mysql 15 0 2872 2872 1540 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 mysqld
1470 mysql 15 0 2872 2872 1540 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 mysqld
1471 mysql 15 0 2872 2872 1540 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 mysqld
1706 root 15 0 460 460 396 S 0.0 0.0 0:01 portsentry
1710 root 15 0 700 700 596 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 portsentry
2384 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
2385 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
2386 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
2387 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
2388 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
2389 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
2452 cpanel 15 0 21124 20M 2260 S 0.0 4.1 0:00 interchange
3426 cpanel 15 0 1928 1928 1332 S 0.0 0.3 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
6372 root 15 0 1332 1332 1116 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 exim
14741 root 15 0 1908 1908 1580 R 0.0 0.3 0:00 sshd
14742 root 15 0 1324 1324 996 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 bash
15522 nobody 15 0 6700 6700 4836 S 0.0 1.3 0:00 httpd
15523 nobody 15 0 6636 6636 4904 S 0.0 1.2 0:00 httpd
15524 nobody 15 0 4996 4996 4788 S 0.0 0.9 0:00 httpd
15525 nobody 15 0 5028 5028 4732 S 0.0 0.9 0:00 httpd
15526 nobody 15 0 6620 6620 4904 S 0.0 1.2 0:00 httpd
[/quote:81ac4d4f45]

Dont know why but the cpu load is good but the ram sucks right up after 5 hours but never go's to use the swap.

Ive never had it pass 3 days.. since ive been playing with it. 1 Apache crash and it restarted back itself.

Anyone know what could be sucking up ram so fast?
 

moronhead

Well-Known Member
Aug 12, 2001
706
0
316
Multivol, can you briefly tell us what you did to resolve the problem?

Hostbet, sorry about the confusion. I was trying to quote a section from itf's earlier thread. I'd suggest you check each sub-domain entry in your httpd.conf to see if there is a NameVirtualHost directive just before the VirtualHost container for the sub-domain.

Norman
 

multivol

Active Member
Sep 1, 2002
25
0
151
What I did was stated by many of yous.

Deleted all duplicates and just have 1 &NameVirtualHost ip : port& for every ip.
 

itf

Well-Known Member
May 9, 2002
624
0
316
[quote:98e2cd8b00]
It would have been helpful if you'd made this clear in your first post. ;-)

Quote
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NameVirtualHost main-server-ip:80
&VirtualHost main-server-ip&
BytesLog domlogs/host.serverdomain.com-bytes_log
ServerName host.serverdomain.com
DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
&/VirtualHost&
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Actually you don't have to or need to create a VirtualHost for host.serverdomain.com. httpd.conf should already contain the ServerName and DocumentRoot information for the host somewhere in the file.
[/quote:98e2cd8b00]

I didn't wrote you have to add a VirtualHost for server that was just an example, which does nothing. And never wanted to advise to remove all of NameVirtualHost directive, I think I discussed about it before in detail just refer to my previous posts
If you have any problem with me, you can send PM or use messenger

[quote:98e2cd8b00][i:98e2cd8b00]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:98e2cd8b00]

Multivol, can you briefly tell us what you did to resolve the problem?

Hostbet, sorry about the confusion. I was trying to quote a section from itf's earlier thread. I'd suggest you check each sub-domain entry in your httpd.conf to see if there is a NameVirtualHost directive just before the VirtualHost container for the sub-domain.

Norman[/quote:98e2cd8b00]

It doesn't matter NameVirtualHost is where, before the VitualHost block or after it

[b:98e2cd8b00]Follow these rules to solve your problem:[/b:98e2cd8b00]

If name-based virtual hosts should be used a NameVirtualHost directive must appear with the IP address set to be used for the name-based virtualhosts. In other words, you must specify the IP address that holds the hostname aliases (CNAMEs) for your name-based virtualhosts via a NameVirtualHost directive in your configuration file. (httpd.conf)

[b:98e2cd8b00]Multiple NameVirtualHost directives can be used each with a set of VirtualHost directives but only one NameVirtualHost directive should be used for each specific IP : port pair.
[/b:98e2cd8b00]

Unless a NameVirtualHost directive is used for a specific IP address the first virtualhost with that address is treated as an IP-based virtualhost.
 

moronhead

Well-Known Member
Aug 12, 2001
706
0
316
Itf, no problems with you whatsoever. ;-) As far as I can see your contributions to this forum have been mostly very helpful. All I'd say is you may want to consider reviewing some of your posts to make sure the info is ~100% applicable to the case at hand. :)

& It doesn't matter NameVirtualHost is where, before the VitualHost block or after it.

That's quite true. httpd.conf stays in memory at all times so the position of NameVirtualHost doesn't matter. But there are cases where Cpanel duplicates a NameVirtualHost entry when creating a sub-domain. It places the duplicate NameVirtualHost just above the VirtualHost container for the sub-domain. That's why I advised Hostbet to look at those locations.
 

multivol

Active Member
Sep 1, 2002
25
0
151
Dont want to waste a another thread....


total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 512352 488320 24032 0 141808 183044
-/+ buffers/cache: 163468 348884
Swap: 522072 0 522072


How come in whm, server stats, it says it only used 33% memory used??
 

portman

Well-Known Member
May 23, 2002
70
0
306
I believe it is also counting your swap memory.