The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

namevirtualhost? hmm

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by multivol, Oct 3, 2002.

  1. multivol

    multivol Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi listend

    Ive put some x' in the ips for privacy.

    I did a start from shh. Im wondering why what i did wrong in whm to get this:


    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.37:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.37:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.40:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.40:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts



    ---

    Also could this be why my server has high ram usage?
    server has 512ram, it starts off at about 20%-25% and at the end of the day its like 80% and few hours later 95%.

    It only has 2 small sites on it that arent even in real use yet, just testing.

    The cpu load is around 0.0 - 0.05 and hasnt really changed.


    (Sorry im newbie)
     
  2. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:a4937c36a1][i:a4937c36a1]Originally posted by multivol[/i:a4937c36a1]

    Hi listend

    Ive put some x' in the ips for privacy.

    I did a start from shh. Im wondering why what i did wrong in whm to get this:


    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.37:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.37:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.40:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.40:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.43:80 has no VirtualHosts



    ---

    Also could this be why my server has high ram usage?
    server has 512ram, it starts off at about 20%-25% and at the end of the day its like 80% and few hours later 95%.

    It only has 2 small sites on it that arent even in real use yet, just testing.

    The cpu load is around 0.0 - 0.05 and hasnt really changed.


    (Sorry im newbie)[/quote:a4937c36a1]
    check out your httpd.conf in a root ssh session:
    pico /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
     
  3. multivol

    multivol Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    heres some of it..


    NameVirtualHost 64.x.x.x:80


    &VirtualHost x.x.x.x78&
    ServerAdmin webmaster@mycontactdomain.org
    DocumentRoot /home/myusername/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/mycontactdomain.org-bytes_log
    User myname
    Group myname
    ServerName www.mycontactdomain.org
    ServerAlias mycontactdomain.org www.mycontactdomain.org
    CustomLog domlogs/mycontactdomain.org combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/mycontactname/public_html/cgi-bin/

    &/VirtualHost&


    NameVirtualHost x.x.x.x78:80

    &VirtualHost x.x.x.x78&
    BytesLog domlogs/mycontactname.mycontactdomain.org-bytes_log
    User mycontactname
    Group mycontactname
    ServerName mycontactname.mycontactdomain.org
    ServerAlias www.mycontactname.mycontactdomain.org
    ServerAdmin wwwadmin@mycontactdomain.org
    DocumentRoot /home/mycontactname/public_html/mycontactname
    CustomLog domlogs/mycontactname.mycontactdomain.org combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/mycontactname/public_html/mycontactname/cgi-bin/
    User mycontactname
    Group mycontactname
    &/VirtualHost&

    &VirtualHost x.x.x.x78&
    ServerAlias www.generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com
    DocumentRoot /home/demo/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com-bytes_log
    User demo
    Group demo
    ServerName www.generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/demo/public_html/cgi-bin/
    CustomLog domlogs/generichostcontrolpaneldemo.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/demo/public_html/cgi-bin/
    &/VirtualHost&




    Can you tell me what the syntax is suppose or what it should look like?

    Thanks.!
     
  4. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    in httpd.conf

    find the first:
    [quote:05210cb671]NameVirtualHost server-ip:80[/quote:05210cb671][quote:05210cb671]
    NameVirtualHost server-ip:80
    [b:05210cb671]
    &VirtualHost server-ip&
    ...
    &/VirtualHost&
    [/b:05210cb671]
    [/quote:05210cb671]
    remove any other:
    NameVirtualHost server-ip:80

    [b:05210cb671]
    Unless a NameVirtualHost directive is used for a specific IP address the first virtualhost with that address is treated as an IP-based virtualhost.

    If name-based virtual hosts should be used a NameVirtualHost directive must appear with the IP address set to be used for the name-based virtualhosts. In other words, you must specify the IP address that holds the hostname aliases (CNAMEs) for your name-based virtualhosts via a NameVirtualHost directive in your configuration file.

    Multiple NameVirtualHost directives can be used each with a set of VirtualHost directives but only one NameVirtualHost directive should be used for each specific IP : port pair.

    In other word, you should not have duplicates of a NameVirtualHost directive in httpd.conf
    [/b:05210cb671]
     
  5. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    duplicated post, see above
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I got this from apache.org and thought it would be handy: I upgraded to Apache 1.3 and now my virtual hosts don't work!
    In versions of Apache prior to 1.3b2, there was a lot of confusion regarding address-based virtual hosts and (HTTP/1.1) name-based virtual hosts, and the rules concerning how the server processed &VirtualHost& definitions were very complex and not well documented.

    Apache 1.3b2 introduced a new directive, NameVirtualHost, which simplifies the rules quite a bit. However, changing the rules like this means that your existing name-based &VirtualHost& containers probably won't work correctly immediately following the upgrade.

    To correct this problem, add the following line to the beginning of your server configuration file, before defining any virtual hosts:

    NameVirtualHost n.n.n.n
    Replace the &n.n.n.n& with the IP address to which the name-based virtual host names resolve; if you have multiple name-based hosts on multiple addresses, repeat the directive for each address.

    Make sure that your name-based &VirtualHost& blocks contain ServerName and possibly ServerAlias directives so Apache can be sure to tell them apart correctly.

    Please see the Apache Virtual Host documentation for further details about configuration
     
  7. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:a812c605ce][i:a812c605ce]Originally posted by multivol[/i:a812c605ce]

    [Wed Oct 2 14:55:01 2002] [warn] NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 has no VirtualHosts
    [/quote:a812c605ce]
    Basically find out if there are any duplicates of this line in your httpd.conf file and remove all the duplicates EXCEPT the first one. So you should have just one occurence of NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80.

    NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Keep the 1st one
    NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Delete the duplicates
    NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Delete the duplicates
    .................................

    Repeat the same for your other IP addresses. Then restart apache.

    I'm not sure why itf advised you to remove all the NameVirtualHost lines. Don't do that until itf explains the reasoning behind his thinking. :)
     
  8. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:c681afbd3a][i:c681afbd3a]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:c681afbd3a]
    Basically find out if there are any duplicates of this line in your httpd.conf file and remove all the duplicates EXCEPT the first one. So you should have just one occurence of NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80.

    NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Keep the 1st one
    NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Delete the duplicates
    NameVirtualHost xx.6x.1x7.178:80 &-- Delete the duplicates
    .................................

    Repeat the same for your other IP addresses. Then restart apache.

    I'm not sure why itf advised you to remove all the NameVirtualHost lines. Don't do that until itf explains the reasoning behind his thinking. :)[/quote:c681afbd3a]
    Moronhead,

    I answered generally for the public
    I wrote &remove [b:c681afbd3a]any other[/b:c681afbd3a] namevertualhost& it doesn't mean all of namevirtualhosts

    But you are right it's better to explain in-depth ; may be I have to refine my post:

    Unless a NameVirtualHost directive is used for a specific IP address the first virtualhost with that address is treated as an IP-based virtualhost.

    If name-based virtual hosts should be used a NameVirtualHost directive must appear with the IP address set to be used for the name-based virtualhosts. In other words, you must specify the IP address that holds the hostname aliases (CNAMEs) for your name-based virtualhosts via a NameVirtualHost directive in your configuration file. (httpd.conf)

    Multiple NameVirtualHost directives can be used each with a set of VirtualHost directives but only one NameVirtualHost directive should be used for each specific IP : port pair.
    But, you should not have duplicates of a NameVirtualHost directive in httpd.conf
     
  9. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    itf, thanks for editing and removing the incorrect information you had in your first post. That would have resulted in name-based virtual hosts to stop functioning had multivol (or any other newbie for that matter) applied your suggestions. :(

    The majority of the solutions that you offer in this forum are otherwise excellent. :)
     
  10. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:0b08cf54d1][i:0b08cf54d1]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:0b08cf54d1]

    itf, thanks for editing and removing the incorrect information you had in your first post. That would have resulted in name-based virtual hosts to stop functioning had multivol (or any other newbie for that matter) applied your suggestions. :(

    The majority of the solutions that you offer in this forum are otherwise excellent. :)
    [/quote:0b08cf54d1]
    Moronhead,

    Thanks but I haven't removed the structure just refined with adding up some texts,

    When you have namevirtual host directive you have to have VirtualHost blocks too in a clear system with no accounts:
    You have at least:

    NameVirtualHost main-server-ip:80
    &VirtualHost main-server-ip&
    BytesLog domlogs/host.serverdomain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName host.serverdomain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    &/VirtualHost&

    I wrote remove [b:0b08cf54d1]any other[/b:0b08cf54d1] NameVirtualHost ip:80 for that user because he sent his httpd.conf by email to me and just his main server ip address was duplicated (as you can see in his second post too)

    However it has the same meaning that you wrote, you can replace ip (in my post -as a variable-) with whatever ip that available in the httpd.conf then the result could put newbies in trouble

    This is why I added some descriptions and refined what I posted to fit public needs

    again Thanks for your hints,

    Unless a NameVirtualHost directive is used for a specific IP address the first virtualhost with that address is treated as an IP-based virtualhost.

    If name-based virtual hosts should be used a NameVirtualHost directive must appear with the IP address set to be used for the name-based virtualhosts. In other words, you must specify the IP address that holds the hostname aliases (CNAMEs) for your name-based virtualhosts via a NameVirtualHost directive in your configuration file. (httpd.conf)

    Multiple NameVirtualHost directives can be used each with a set of VirtualHost directives but only one NameVirtualHost directive should be used for each specific IP : port pair.
    But, you should not have duplicates of a NameVirtualHost directive in httpd.conf
     
  11. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:e677385042][i:e677385042]Quotes originally posted by itf[/i:e677385042]

    Thanks but I haven't removed the structure just refined with adding up some texts.[/quote:e677385042]What you originally suggested (ie. before editing/changing your first post) was to chuck out all the NameVirtualHost directives in httpd.conf except the one for the server IP. That is incorrect UNLESS you have just 1 IP bound to your server and you have ALL your name-based hosts on the server IP.

    Multivol has quoted errors for 4 IP addresses in his first post. In his second post he states that what he was quoting was &some of it&.


    [quote:e677385042][However it has the same meaning that you wrote, you can replace ip (in my post -as a variable-) with whatever ip that available in the httpd.conf[/quote:e677385042]It would have been helpful if you'd made this clear in your first post. ;-)


    [quote:e677385042]NameVirtualHost main-server-ip:80
    &VirtualHost main-server-ip&
    BytesLog domlogs/host.serverdomain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName host.serverdomain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    &/VirtualHost&[/quote:e677385042]Actually you don't have to or need to create a VirtualHost for host.serverdomain.com. httpd.conf should already contain the ServerName and DocumentRoot information for the host somewhere in the file.
     
  12. hostbet

    hostbet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the same problem and there is not duplicates in the httpd.conf file.

    what do you mean?
    \&VirtualHost main-server-ip\&

    or is:
    &VirtualHost main-server-ip&
     
  13. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:e40172134e][i:e40172134e]Originally posted by hostbet[/i:e40172134e]

    I have the same problem and there is not duplicates in the httpd.conf file.

    what do you mean?
    \&VirtualHost main-server-ip\&

    or is:
    &VirtualHost main-server-ip&[/quote:e40172134e]

    &VirtualHost ip&
    is correct, it seems moronhead has a typo in quotation
    Read the thread from the beginning again
    thanks
     
  14. multivol

    multivol Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes thanks for that, restarted apache from console, all good, no errors shown :)

    Thanks for helping :)


    [quote:81ac4d4f45]
    8:10am up 10:01, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.00, 0.00
    63 processes: 61 sleeping, 2 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: 2.0% user, 0.3% system, 0.0% nice, 97.5% idle
    Mem: 512352K av, 469368K used, 42984K free, 0K shrd, 122608K buff
    Swap: 522072K av, 0K used, 522072K free 179816K cached

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND
    15662 root 15 0 1024 1024 820 R 1.9 0.1 0:00 top
    1 root 15 0 480 480 416 S 0.0 0.0 0:06 init
    2 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 keventd
    3 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kapmd
    4 root 34 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:00 ksoftirqd_CPU0
    5 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kswapd
    6 root 25 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 bdflush
    7 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kupdated
    8 root 16 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 mdrecoveryd
    12 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kjournald
    133 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 kjournald
    134 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:01 kjournald
    481 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 eth0
    888 root 15 0 548 548 460 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 syslogd
    893 root 15 0 448 448 388 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 klogd
    1040 nobody 15 0 1236 1236 952 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 proftpd
    1058 root 16 0 1220 1220 1088 S 0.0 0.2 0:01 sshd
    1091 root 15 0 904 904 716 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 xinetd
    1109 root 15 0 1344 1344 1152 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 antirelayd
    1127 root 16 0 2604 2604 1404 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 chkservd
    1161 root 34 19 3132 3132 1488 S N 0.0 0.6 0:00 cpanellogd
    1163 root 16 0 3108 3108 1972 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 cpaneld
    1171 root 15 0 2868 2868 1884 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 webmaild
    1177 root 15 0 3820 3820 2300 S 0.0 0.7 0:00 cppop
    1182 nobody 17 0 2012 2012 1344 S 0.0 0.3 0:00 entropychat
    1187 nobody 17 0 584 584 356 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 melange
    1202 root 15 0 4872 4872 4708 S 0.0 0.9 0:05 httpd
    1214 root 16 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
    1216 root 17 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
    1218 root 17 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
    1220 cpanel 17 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
    1222 cpanel 15 0 1928 1928 1332 S 0.0 0.3 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
    1224 cpanel 15 0 1480 1480 1236 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
    1283 root 15 0 3172 3172 2012 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 whostmgrd
    1342 root 15 0 620 620 536 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 crond
    1343 named 17 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 named
    1345 named 15 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 named
    1346 named 15 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:01 named
    1347 named 15 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 named
    1348 named 15 0 3300 3300 1944 S 0.0 0.6 0:00 named
    1359 root 16 0 1156 1156 960 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 safe_mysqld
    1397 mysql 15 0 2872 2872 1540 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 mysqld
    1470 mysql 15 0 2872 2872 1540 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 mysqld
    1471 mysql 15 0 2872 2872 1540 S 0.0 0.5 0:00 mysqld
    1706 root 15 0 460 460 396 S 0.0 0.0 0:01 portsentry
    1710 root 15 0 700 700 596 S 0.0 0.1 0:00 portsentry
    2384 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
    2385 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
    2386 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
    2387 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
    2388 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
    2389 root 16 0 376 376 320 S 0.0 0.0 0:00 mingetty
    2452 cpanel 15 0 21124 20M 2260 S 0.0 4.1 0:00 interchange
    3426 cpanel 15 0 1928 1928 1332 S 0.0 0.3 0:00 stunnel-3.22loc
    6372 root 15 0 1332 1332 1116 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 exim
    14741 root 15 0 1908 1908 1580 R 0.0 0.3 0:00 sshd
    14742 root 15 0 1324 1324 996 S 0.0 0.2 0:00 bash
    15522 nobody 15 0 6700 6700 4836 S 0.0 1.3 0:00 httpd
    15523 nobody 15 0 6636 6636 4904 S 0.0 1.2 0:00 httpd
    15524 nobody 15 0 4996 4996 4788 S 0.0 0.9 0:00 httpd
    15525 nobody 15 0 5028 5028 4732 S 0.0 0.9 0:00 httpd
    15526 nobody 15 0 6620 6620 4904 S 0.0 1.2 0:00 httpd
    [/quote:81ac4d4f45]

    Dont know why but the cpu load is good but the ram sucks right up after 5 hours but never go's to use the swap.

    Ive never had it pass 3 days.. since ive been playing with it. 1 Apache crash and it restarted back itself.

    Anyone know what could be sucking up ram so fast?
     
  15. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Multivol, can you briefly tell us what you did to resolve the problem?

    Hostbet, sorry about the confusion. I was trying to quote a section from itf's earlier thread. I'd suggest you check each sub-domain entry in your httpd.conf to see if there is a NameVirtualHost directive just before the VirtualHost container for the sub-domain.

    Norman
     
  16. multivol

    multivol Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What I did was stated by many of yous.

    Deleted all duplicates and just have 1 &NameVirtualHost ip : port& for every ip.
     
  17. itf

    itf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:98e2cd8b00]
    It would have been helpful if you'd made this clear in your first post. ;-)

    Quote
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    NameVirtualHost main-server-ip:80
    &VirtualHost main-server-ip&
    BytesLog domlogs/host.serverdomain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName host.serverdomain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    &/VirtualHost&
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Actually you don't have to or need to create a VirtualHost for host.serverdomain.com. httpd.conf should already contain the ServerName and DocumentRoot information for the host somewhere in the file.
    [/quote:98e2cd8b00]

    I didn't wrote you have to add a VirtualHost for server that was just an example, which does nothing. And never wanted to advise to remove all of NameVirtualHost directive, I think I discussed about it before in detail just refer to my previous posts
    If you have any problem with me, you can send PM or use messenger

    [quote:98e2cd8b00][i:98e2cd8b00]Originally posted by moronhead[/i:98e2cd8b00]

    Multivol, can you briefly tell us what you did to resolve the problem?

    Hostbet, sorry about the confusion. I was trying to quote a section from itf's earlier thread. I'd suggest you check each sub-domain entry in your httpd.conf to see if there is a NameVirtualHost directive just before the VirtualHost container for the sub-domain.

    Norman[/quote:98e2cd8b00]

    It doesn't matter NameVirtualHost is where, before the VitualHost block or after it

    [b:98e2cd8b00]Follow these rules to solve your problem:[/b:98e2cd8b00]

    If name-based virtual hosts should be used a NameVirtualHost directive must appear with the IP address set to be used for the name-based virtualhosts. In other words, you must specify the IP address that holds the hostname aliases (CNAMEs) for your name-based virtualhosts via a NameVirtualHost directive in your configuration file. (httpd.conf)

    [b:98e2cd8b00]Multiple NameVirtualHost directives can be used each with a set of VirtualHost directives but only one NameVirtualHost directive should be used for each specific IP : port pair.
    [/b:98e2cd8b00]

    Unless a NameVirtualHost directive is used for a specific IP address the first virtualhost with that address is treated as an IP-based virtualhost.
     
  18. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Itf, no problems with you whatsoever. ;-) As far as I can see your contributions to this forum have been mostly very helpful. All I'd say is you may want to consider reviewing some of your posts to make sure the info is ~100% applicable to the case at hand. :)

    & It doesn't matter NameVirtualHost is where, before the VitualHost block or after it.

    That's quite true. httpd.conf stays in memory at all times so the position of NameVirtualHost doesn't matter. But there are cases where Cpanel duplicates a NameVirtualHost entry when creating a sub-domain. It places the duplicate NameVirtualHost just above the VirtualHost container for the sub-domain. That's why I advised Hostbet to look at those locations.
     
  19. multivol

    multivol Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dont want to waste a another thread....


    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 512352 488320 24032 0 141808 183044
    -/+ buffers/cache: 163468 348884
    Swap: 522072 0 522072


    How come in whm, server stats, it says it only used 33% memory used??
     
  20. portman

    portman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I believe it is also counting your swap memory.
     

Share This Page