Need a second Admin account for our developer

wmu

Registered
Mar 17, 2021
America
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hi,

I need help setting up a second admin account for for my developer. All I see online is that you have to give the developer your main account login details, but that can't be right. If this is true, it's a horrible policy. No security protocol on earth would ask someone to give their developer the only admin user id and password for their account which would allow the developer to lock out our service (and also, what happens if something happens to the developer and the only account available has been changed?)

Can someone please point me to a way to add a second admin account for our developer?

Thank you for your help! I have 20+ years of IT experience, but not in this area.

Last edited by a moderator:

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hey there! It would depend on what level of access they need and to what resources. If they need access to specific areas of WHM you could create a reseller account as that would provide them with a WHM log in. If they need access to cPanel, providing access to the entire cPanel account is the best way to do that. You could further restrict access by creating an FTP user, so they could only connect to a certain directory within the account's file structure, but if they need access to the cPanel interface they would have to use the main cPanel username and password.

wmu

Registered
Mar 17, 2021
America
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator