The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need assistance from a pro, will pay.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by netricks, Jun 2, 2004.

  1. netricks

    netricks Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    I have set up a new server with cpanel. Everyting is running fine. I have a few issues too complex for me to handle with regards to a group of websites that I am taking over hosting for. I can easily setup new accounts through CPanel and setup resellers and all that, but is there a way to setup a group of websites at the root which I thing act like virtual sites with eachother. This is tha part I really don't understand and will gladly pay someone to help set up.

    I can be reached at AOL: netricksdotcom or
    MSN messenger: grichburg@hotmail.com

    The messed up part is that I am in a hurry. Of course, it all needed to be done yesterday. hahaha
    :D

    Thanks in advance to anyone that replies.
     
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    So you are wanting to setup one master account for the group and all of the other domains point at the master site?
     
  3. netricks

    netricks Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    Well, sort of. The other sites are different. They utilize different templates. But they get their data from the same mySQL dbs, and their graphics from the same image files.

    I would like to get it set up using cPanel.

    The databases have been given to me as SQL dumps. I think. There's a bunch of .frm, .myi, .myd files.

    So, I have to recreate the databases, set up the users, apply the proper priveledges. Yet, I am not sure if I should do this from a cPanel user or, if I need to do this from a root profile.

    Thanks for your assistance.
     
  4. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    You could do this by making all of the sub-sites add-on domains of the master site. Then you could access using the same login/pass all of the other DBs and just reference the files for images. This would take php_openbase out of the scenario and allow you to run them.
     
  5. netricks

    netricks Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    Sounds good to me, I tell you pal, my monkey-shit brown subaru ain't going nowhere with a flat and I'm here sittin' on blocks if you're smellin what I'm stepping in.

    So that's different than a parked domain, someone suggested parked domains to me, but I didn't really get all that.

    Add-on domains sounds like the right direction looking at the directory structure. Are you interested in assisting? I do not believe in free lunches. I will compensate you.
     
  6. netricks

    netricks Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    CA
    I currently have agentleman helping me. Thank you very much kris1351 for the assistance in these matter. I appreciate it.

    GR
     
Loading...

Share This Page