Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Need Domains to Share CGI-BIN Directory

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by urantian, Jan 27, 2005.

  1. urantian

    urantian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Greetings,

    I'm moving from a virtual server environment, in which I host several domains. Each of the domains share a common CGI-BIN directory, which I use for running a custom shopping cart, and other scripts, for each site.

    Using CPanel, how do I set up a similar shared environment? Is this done with the Addon domains? I know that the hosted domains would point to a sub-directory of one parent account. Would this cause each domain to share the same CGI-BIN directory assigned to the parent account?

    Thank you,
    Michael Reynolds
     
  2. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    all add-on domains have their own CGI-BIN
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. urantian

    urantian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How can I set up a CGI-BIN directory that would be common to other domains? With virtual hosting, hosted domains point to a subdirectory of a parent domain, similar to the Addon domains. Each virtual host uses the CGI-BIN directory of the parent domain. How can this be done with CPanel?

    ---Michael
     
  4. weaver

    weaver Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    You could create a symbolic link to a master cgi-bin if you have permissions to do so (shell access), if not I'm sure your host can set it up for you!
     
  5. urantian

    urantian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    158
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got it to work. By changing the CGI-BIN alias in the HTTPD.CONF file, the Virtual Host can have its CGI-BIN address point to any directory. This all works fine for subdomains.

    Now, I am trying to get it to work for the reseller accounts. I want to do this because I may want to grant extra features to certain customers, while still routing their CGI-BIN activity to a different directory. (This is so I can manage their shopping cart product data in a single place.) I changed the HTTPD.CONF file, but I am getting a 500 server error when I attempt to run a script. At least I know I am getting it to point someplace else.

    ---Michael
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice