Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Need help, bought a Linux server.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Thehunterman, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. Thehunterman

    Thehunterman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hi, I bought a linux server, and actually all I can do now is enter through the SSH, This is my first time buying a server. When I bought a VPS before I could enter through remote desktop control, how can I do that on the server ? I need a little explanation because I am little short on info here :)
     
  2. mickbeng

    mickbeng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Thehunterman

    Thehunterman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Try this URL: https://your.server.com:2087 Or http://yourdomain.com/whm/ Or http://you.r.IP.com/whm/

    Or have you tried those?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Thehunterman

    Thehunterman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Did your WHM come up asking you for login details? I may have misread your OP, is this not what you needed?

    There is no remote desktop features in cPanel, like you might find on a windows server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Thehunterman

    Thehunterman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    My goal is to enter the server like windows server to control the files and so on, is that not available in Linux server ? only SSH ?
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Correct, there is no UI for your cPanel server other than WHM.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Thehunterman

    Thehunterman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ok, one more question, Can I upload things through the server?
     
  10. Data 1

    Data 1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you can connect SSH you can connect SFTP with a program like Winscp. Winscp will give you a drag and drop feel for files similar to the windows thing but with a lot more functions.

    If you are only used to windows/rdp you have a learning curve but once you are "there" trust me you will never go back. If someone gave me a windows server complete with sticker I would wipe it out and put CentOS on it.

    Jim
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Sure you can. Using the cPanel File Manager in any of your accounts of course, and there's also this which can come in very handy for some:
    ConfigServer Explorer

    With this you can manage all files on the server with ease.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Thehunterman

    Thehunterman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    hmm.. After reading it's features.

    I think you didn't get what I mean :D I meant uploading files to servers like Rapidshare, Megaupload, Mediafire and so on.

    And Can I download torrents on it :confused:

    I know I am annoying but sorry I bought linux instead of windows by mistake, so gotta learn :)
     
  13. Data 1

    Data 1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I think I get it now.

    This isn't at a datacenter, this is in your living room and you don't want to do "hosting" from it, just use it as a PC?
     
  14. Thehunterman

    Thehunterman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    No, actually I am in my bedroom :p
    yep, you got what I mean, all I wanted to do was buy a VPS to handle files, but man I got tricked into something bigger :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice