The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help: Fixing and Preventing a 0day exploit of cPanel on Canaca servers.

Discussion in 'Security' started by dark_gear, Apr 21, 2010.

1. dark_gear

dark_gear Registered

Hi,

First, a short intro. I'm a photographer and designer for a small business with multiple domains, all of which are hosted at Canaca.com. I've always taken care of my own basic network and hosted files for home or private use but I've never dealt with anything that would require manual editing or updating of scripts such cPanel or Apache.

Last week our server was compromised, rooted and used to both send mass emails and host false bank pages as part of a phishing scam targetting multiple banks. The host company suspended our account, shutting down all of our web sites. 4 days later we finally got in touch with a real live person in order to have them reset our account passwords.

After 3 days of sifting through our servers and researching how we were compromised I stumbled upon this forum and I'm hoping I get some needed help.

On to the Exploit.

In the process of cleaning up the mess I've found 13 folders as well as 3 files in my "public_html" that are locked off with permissions set to 0000. One is a php script and the other 2 files are .zip files which are beyond a shadow of a doubt the attacker's compressed phishing websites. I can't do anything to these files or folders since I don't have access rights. I have no idea whether it's the hacker or the host company that set the permissions on those files or folders. Can I reclaim ownership of those files? How would I do that?