The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need HELP -- [ipcheck] Problems .... (Can't send/receive email)

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by bs.reksoprodjo, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. bs.reksoprodjo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I got this ipcheck problem this morning, already check /etc/hosts file, /etc/resolv.conf file and also "A" entry in the zone file for domain, everything was correct...

    now the big problem is that the server could not do a host lookup. So no single email can be send out from the server as well as receiving email.

    Is there anybody can help me on this issue ?

    TIA
    -anto-

    ================
    Message 1Ofuaw-0006Zm-6d is not frozen
    LOG: MAIN
    cwd=/usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot 4 args: /usr/sbin/exim -v -M 1Ofuaw-0006Zm-6d
    delivering 1Ofuaw-0006Zm-6d
    LOG: MAIN
    == myemail@yahoo.com <root@greenpower.xxxx.com> R=lookuphost defer (-1): host lookup did not complete

    Return to Mail Queue
    ================
     
  2. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check your resolvers

    Check the contents of /etc/resolv.conf. This file contains the list of resolvers that your server will use to do host lookups for domains that it does not host. The file must contain the IP addresses of valid, reliable resolvers.

    While some suggest placing 4.2.2.1 and 4.2.2.2 in /etc/resolv.conf, this should be considered only a temporary measure for troubleshooting. One alternative is to use Google's public DNS:

    Google Public DNS

    To use Google's DNS, edit /etc/resolv.conf, and place the following at the very top of the file, before anything else:

    Code:
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    If this corrects the problem and you are able to send mail, you really should check with your hosting provider to find out which resolvers you should be using. Most hosting providers provide resolvers for their customers' use, and since these resolvers are usually located in the same network as the customers' servers, using your host's resolvers can be faster and more reliable.
     
  3. lijeeshsd

    lijeeshsd Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello Anto,

    It seems the resolvers specified in /etc/resolv.conf are not working or you have a misconfigured firewall which denies dns lookups within server.

    Can you try to resolve a common domain like gmail.com from your server? If the resolvers are working, you should get an output like following:

    ================
    root@server ~# host google.com
    google.com has address 74.125.45.147
    google.com has address 74.125.45.99
    google.com has address 74.125.45.103
    google.com has address 74.125.45.104
    google.com has address 74.125.45.105
    google.com has address 74.125.45.106
    google.com mail is handled by 200 google.com.s9a2.psmtp.com.
    google.com mail is handled by 300 google.com.s9b1.psmtp.com.
    google.com mail is handled by 400 google.com.s9b2.psmtp.com.
    google.com mail is handled by 100 google.com.s9a1.psmtp.com.
    ================

    Thanks,
    Lijeesh
     
  4. bs.reksoprodjo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dear Jared,

    thank you for your help, it works now...... but I just wondering why the resolver from my provider wasn't working...... because I have another server that works with the provider's resolver......

    regards,
    -anto-
     
  5. bs.reksoprodjo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Lijeesh,

    I didn't make any changes in my firewall configuration....... just change the resolver as Jared sugestion...... and it works....... so it seems like the problem within my provider resolver....

    regards,
    -anto-
     
  6. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The only thing that I can think of, if it is not caused by the firewall, is that perhaps there is some sort of routing issue within your provider's network. This would make sense especially if your servers are on different subnets. I recommend that you follow up with your provider to see if they know about or can find an issue that might have caused this.
     
  7. bs.reksoprodjo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dear Jared,

    I'm now working with my provider to find the cause of this problem, but in the mean time now the server can send out a lot of mail in the queue since this morning.....

    thanks,
    -anto-
     
Loading...

Share This Page