The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help: Setting up SPF.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SuperBaby, Dec 26, 2005.

  1. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    http://www.openspf.org/wizard.html?mydomain=mydomain.com

    I need some help in setting up SPF. I do not know what to enter (see URL above) for:

    - the "a:" text box
    - the "mx:" text box
    - the "ip4:" text box
    - the "include:" text box
    - the "~all:" radio button

    I only have one server and it is for common uses. I use it to host my web design customers' website as well as my own. Most websites (except one) use the shared IP. WHM/cPanel + RH9 are installed in my server.

    Also, how do I know if it is working after setup?
     
  2. RizyDeWino

    RizyDeWino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    - the "a:" text box
    Yes if you are setting it for any domain on the Main shared IP
    No if you are setting if for the domain on unique IP as its IP for mail will be different from server's main IP.

    - the "mx:" text box
    Yes will work in most cases. (Hope you are not using multiple MX records).

    - the "ip4:" text box
    Ip of your mail server , and if you are using your ISP's mail server for sending mails then fill it according to their instrictions.


    - the "include:" text box
    openspf.org says
    >>If you send mail through your ISP's servers, and the ISP has published an SPF record, >>name the ISP here.

    - the "~all:" radio button
    Yes.
     
    #2 RizyDeWino, Dec 26, 2005
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2005
  3. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Not really understand about the above two. I can of course set my ISP's info. But I have many other customers that are hosting on the same server. Some must be using their own ISPs' mail servers. Since I cannot tell what their mail servers are, how do I set this data?

    I am using ThunderBird. For the SMTP server, I set it to "smtp.myisp.com" instead of "mail.mydomain.com". So I should include "smtp.myisp.com" under the "ip4:" and "include:" boxes? I am really poor in DNS. I am not sure if you are referring to this situation.
     
  4. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    I was using this wizard. That is why I posted these questions.
     
  6. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    dont know if it helps but our SPF string is ""v=spf1 a"

    In our db file for the domain the line is :


    16400 IN TXT "v=spf1 a"

    Thats if you edit your db record manually.
     
  7. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    How do you specify the SPF under WHM?
     
  8. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    That website gives a lot of information, anyway to add it in WHM go to DNS functions
    Choose: Edit DNS Zone, select the domain you want to add the spoof record too.

    Add New Entries Below this Line

    yourdomain. TXT "v=spf1 a ~all"


    Make sure you have the dot at end of your domain, choose record TXT and enter the string.

    Save

    Done.
     
  9. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can also add it to your Zone Templates so that all new accounts that you create are covered.

    This from my Zone Templates:
    %domain%. IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ptr ~all"
     
    #9 Izzee, Dec 29, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2006
  10. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Just wondering why you have a (-) instead of the (~)
     
  11. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Have you read the FAQ's carefully. They state that if you do any email forwwarding that SPF will break the forwarding to and SPF -aware servers.

    They do not recommend using SPF with web hosting companies.
     
  12. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just a typo ;).

    Thanks for pointing that out. I have corrected my post now.

    I must have been thinking about the host name entry:
    host.domain.tld. IN TXT "v=spf1 a -all"

    ;)
     
  13. nicklas

    nicklas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Did you test this ?
    I have sent an email to a forward address and it received as normal
     
    #13 nicklas, Jan 4, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2006
  14. lloyd_tennison

    lloyd_tennison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It all depends on whether the forwarded address uses strict SPF. If they do, your email will be rejected. The problem is you never know who does and who does not use strict SPF and whether AOL will really totally implement it for those who have records available.

    It is an unnecessary gamble for whatever dubious value SPF provides.
     
  15. kilroy

    kilroy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for that info. I have been using SPF on all the domains on my server and have noticed some email rejected when forwarded. Didn't connect the dots but now will remove SPF.

    Thanks,

    Roger
    TrekCom Hosting
     
Loading...

Share This Page