The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with bandmin please ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bert, Feb 8, 2002.

  1. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    Running RedHat 7.2 and after upgrading the kernel from 2.4.7-10 to 2.4.17 bandmin stopped working. I got this error when trying to run it:

    root@server16 [~]# /usr/local/bandmin/bandmin
    modprobe: Can't locate module ip_tables
    iptables v1.2.4: can't initialize iptables table `filter': iptables who? (do you need to insmod?)
    Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.
    modprobe: Can't locate module ip_tables
    iptables v1.2.4: can't initialize iptables table `filter': iptables who? (do you need to insmod?)
    Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.


    I went ahead and upgraded bandmin to version 0.92b7, but I am now getting this error:


    root@server16 [~]# /usr/local/bandmin/bandmin
    ipchains: No chain by that name
    ipchains: No chain by that name


    In any case, bandmin is not recording anything.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just figured out that my removing /sbin/iptables and restarting bandmin the problem got solved :)
     
  3. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    looks like u missed some modules when you compiled your kernel
     
  4. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available


    Removed IPtables and still getting this error. Any ideas?

    Thanks!
    Zach
     
  5. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you compile your kernel recently?
     
  6. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:0f53400aa5][i:0f53400aa5]Originally posted by ZachICU[/i:0f53400aa5]

    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available


    Removed IPtables and still getting this error. Any ideas?

    Thanks!
    Zach[/quote:0f53400aa5]

    1. Make sure your kernel either supports ipchains or iptables.

    2. Make sure if your kernel supports iptables /sbin/iptables exists and /sbin/ipchains does not.

    3. Make sure if your kernel supports ipchains /sbin/ipchains exists and /sbin/iptables does not.
     
  7. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Kernal version is 2.4 should I be working with ipchains or iptables?

    Thanks
     
  8. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:40e54c47ef][i:40e54c47ef]Originally posted by ZachICU[/i:40e54c47ef]

    Kernal version is 2.4 should I be working with ipchains or iptables?

    Thanks[/quote:40e54c47ef]

    It supports both actually .. your choice ...iptables does do NAT better ..
     
  9. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Alright well if I blew away iptables can I just download it somewhere? Or do I have to rebuild a bunch of stuff?

    Then how would I get it working with bandmin?

    Thanks a bunch
    Zach
     
  10. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:819cf6b4fe][i:819cf6b4fe]Originally posted by ZachICU[/i:819cf6b4fe]

    Alright well if I blew away iptables can I just download it somewhere? Or do I have to rebuild a bunch of stuff?

    Then how would I get it working with bandmin?

    Thanks a bunch
    Zach[/quote:819cf6b4fe]

    http://netfilter.samba.org/

    Make sure iptables end up in /sbin

    and just run

    /sbin/service bandmin start
     
  11. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If I wanted to use ipchains what would I have to do?


    Thanks
    Zach
     
  12. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    password

    Is there a way to secure http:// IP.IP/bandwidth with a user/password?

    Ed
     
Loading...

Share This Page