Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Need help with bandmin please ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bert, Feb 8, 2002.

  1. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Hi,

    Running RedHat 7.2 and after upgrading the kernel from 2.4.7-10 to 2.4.17 bandmin stopped working. I got this error when trying to run it:

    root@server16 [~]# /usr/local/bandmin/bandmin
    modprobe: Can't locate module ip_tables
    iptables v1.2.4: can't initialize iptables table `filter': iptables who? (do you need to insmod?)
    Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.
    modprobe: Can't locate module ip_tables
    iptables v1.2.4: can't initialize iptables table `filter': iptables who? (do you need to insmod?)
    Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.


    I went ahead and upgraded bandmin to version 0.92b7, but I am now getting this error:


    root@server16 [~]# /usr/local/bandmin/bandmin
    ipchains: No chain by that name
    ipchains: No chain by that name


    In any case, bandmin is not recording anything.

    Any ideas?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Just figured out that my removing /sbin/iptables and restarting bandmin the problem got solved :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    looks like u missed some modules when you compiled your kernel
     
  4. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available


    Removed IPtables and still getting this error. Any ideas?

    Thanks!
    Zach
     
  5. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Did you compile your kernel recently?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:0f53400aa5][i:0f53400aa5]Originally posted by ZachICU[/i:0f53400aa5]

    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available
    ipchains: Protocol not available


    Removed IPtables and still getting this error. Any ideas?

    Thanks!
    Zach[/quote:0f53400aa5]

    1. Make sure your kernel either supports ipchains or iptables.

    2. Make sure if your kernel supports iptables /sbin/iptables exists and /sbin/ipchains does not.

    3. Make sure if your kernel supports ipchains /sbin/ipchains exists and /sbin/iptables does not.
     
  7. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Kernal version is 2.4 should I be working with ipchains or iptables?

    Thanks
     
  8. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:40e54c47ef][i:40e54c47ef]Originally posted by ZachICU[/i:40e54c47ef]

    Kernal version is 2.4 should I be working with ipchains or iptables?

    Thanks[/quote:40e54c47ef]

    It supports both actually .. your choice ...iptables does do NAT better ..
     
  9. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Alright well if I blew away iptables can I just download it somewhere? Or do I have to rebuild a bunch of stuff?

    Then how would I get it working with bandmin?

    Thanks a bunch
    Zach
     
  10. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:819cf6b4fe][i:819cf6b4fe]Originally posted by ZachICU[/i:819cf6b4fe]

    Alright well if I blew away iptables can I just download it somewhere? Or do I have to rebuild a bunch of stuff?

    Then how would I get it working with bandmin?

    Thanks a bunch
    Zach[/quote:819cf6b4fe]

    http://netfilter.samba.org/

    Make sure iptables end up in /sbin

    and just run

    /sbin/service bandmin start
     
  11. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    If I wanted to use ipchains what would I have to do?


    Thanks
    Zach
     
  12. TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE

    TRAIN YARD SOFTWARE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    password

    Is there a way to secure http:// IP.IP/bandwidth with a user/password?

    Ed
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice