The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with DNS and subdomains. Please help.

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by rowebil, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. rowebil

    rowebil Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need help with my cPanel and WHM configuration

    I have domainmonster.com
    I have NS set to
    ns1.xila.net
    ns2.xila.net


    For my WHM, dns records are below. It's how my DNS looks in WHM.
    However, the domain works. BUT, subdomains do not work.
    However, the IP address of the server /~instabids works. However, instabids.host4yu.com doesn't work.
    ://

    Can someone help me?


    DNS recordsname class type data time to live
    host4yu.com IN A 188.72.237.31 14400s (04:00:00)
    host4yu.com IN SOA server: ns1.byteshosing.com
    email: farid.sarah.gmail.com
    serial: 2010031204
    refresh: 86400
    retry: 7200
    expire: 3600000
    minimum ttl: 86400
    86400s (1.00:00:00)
    host4yu.com IN MX preference: 10
    exchange: 2020407732.pamx1.hotmail.com
    14400s (04:00:00)
    host4yu.com IN NS ns3.byteshosing.com 86400s (1.00:00:00)
    host4yu.com IN NS ns1.byteshosing.com 86400s (1.00:00:00)
    host4yu.com IN NS ns2.byteshosing.com 86400s (1.00:00:00)
    host4yu.com IN NS ns4.byteshosing.com 86400s (1.00:00:00)
    31.237.72.188.in-addr.arpa IN SOA server: ns9.dnspro.de
    email: ns.netdirekt.de
    serial: 10011500
    refresh: 10800
    retry: 3600
    expire: 1209700
    minimum ttl: 100000
    100000s (1.03:46:40)
    31.237.72.188.in-addr.arpa IN NS ns10.dnspro.de 100000s (1.03:46:40)
    31.237.72.188.in-addr.arpa IN NS ns9.dnspro.de 100000s (1.03:46:40)
    31.237.72.188.in-addr.arpa IN PTR 188-72-237-31.local 100000s (1.03:46:40)


    -- end --
     
  2. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    What exactly is not working on the sub-domain? For me the domain is properly resolving in DNS and the site loads OK when tested in a browser. I have attached a screen shot for clarification.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rowebil

    rowebil Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Now it works..

    Maybe when I switched the DNS on Domainmonster.
    Someone else said it worked, like 2 days ago but didn't work for me.

    I use OpenDNS.
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Before any other comments ...

    I must ask you why you are using a 3rd party DNS service?

    Cpanel is fully capable of managing it's own DNS and is much less complicated than having to manually setup DNS zone files and entries all the time and unless there is some specific reason to do so, I would not recommend using any DNS other than your own DNS inside the server or server cluster that is already built and working inside Cpanel / WHM.

    Now regarding the other comments in this thread ----

    It takes on average 24 to 72 hours for domain names to transfer when you change the DNS servers or web site IP address and during this initial period, some people will see the new location while others will try to connect to the old location and has to do with route caching more than anything and whether or not your ISP uses fresh resolver information.
     
Loading...

Share This Page