The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need MAJOR help please.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 1970Novacaine, Feb 15, 2006.

  1. 1970Novacaine

    1970Novacaine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My server has been giving me problems ever since I tried to upgrade to using PHP5, because a customer asked for it. When trying to build apache it had given me two syntax errors and then I had no PHP installed on the server at all. I reverted and thought everything was fine.

    A few weeks later I added an add-on domain for a customer and this crashed the httpd. After researching this issue I came up with the error being in the httpd.conf file and it was the BytesLog domlogs error that a lot of people have had. So I went in and commented every BytesLog domlogs reference out and restarted httpd. Everything fine again. Next day added a new customer, same thing httpd crashes. Look again at the httpd.conf and it has added BytesLog domlogs again to every virtual host - leaving the ones I had commented out earlier. Fixed it again by commenting out the BytesLog domlogs and restarting httpd.

    Now I figure I need to try and repair my apache since I have been reading on this issue so I try the command /scripts/easyapache and it comes up with some major disturbing information:

    Testing connection speed...(this could take a while)...Unknown open() mode '<&=' at /scripts/MirrorSearch_pingtest line 30.
    .Done
    0 usable mirrors located. (less then expected)
    Ran out of working layer1.cpanel.net mirrors. Please contact cPanel Support at /scripts/cPScript/MirrorSearch.pm line 120
    cPScript::MirrorSearch::_fetchgoodhosts('layer1.cpanel.net', 10, 5, 'HASH(0x81b0b54)', 'HASH(0x815f31c)', 0) called at /scripts/cPScript/MirrorSearch.pm line 68
    cPScript::MirrorSearch::findfastest('days', 10, 'key', 'layer1.cpanel.net', 'count', 5, 'urls', 'ARRAY(0x8148c58)') called at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 215
    cPScript::HttpRequest::_getAddressList('layer1.cpanel.net') called at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 52
    cPScript::HttpRequest::request('cPScript::HttpRequest=HASH(0x80fbc30)', 'host', 'layer1.cpanel.net', 'url', '/buildapache.sea', 'destfile', '/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache.sea', 'protocol', ...) called at /scripts/cPScript/HttpRequest.pm line 192
    cPScript::HttpRequest::download('cPScript::HttpRequest=HASH(0x80fbc30)', 'http://layer1.cpanel.net/buildapache.sea', '/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache.sea') called at /scripts/easyapache line 25

    So now I cannot try to rebuild apache, upgrade cpanel, or anything, my server is functioning but it is a dead duck.

    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.
    Also if I have posted in the wrong area, or posted a common issue I apologize. I assure you I have tried looking this up for days.

    P.S. I am running on: WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-C112
    RedHat 7.3 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
    #1 1970Novacaine, Feb 15, 2006
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2006
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    That would suggest either:

    1. DNS lookups are not working on the server

    2. You've got required outgoing ports blocked

    3. You've rmeoved the port mappings in /etc/services
     
  3. 1970Novacaine

    1970Novacaine Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have contacted the NOC and they had updated perl and it has somewhat fixed the issue.

    I then rebuilt apache by /scripts/easyapache and now I can add customers and remove customers, restart the server, and all appears to keep working.

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page