The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need to assign mysql root user to database with full permission

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Bashed, Feb 4, 2016.

  1. Bashed

    Bashed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a Centos 6 box with MySQL 5.6

    There's a database control panel script I bought that requires full root access to MySQL. I can't figure out via CLI how to greant the mysql root user the full permissions to the database I created.

    I ran this but it doesn't seem to have fixed my issue.

    Would appreciate help.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Before proceeding, could you have them elaborate on why full root access to the MySQL server is required? Typically you create a database user, choose the privileges, and assign that particular user to the database.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Bashed

    Bashed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's a MySQL control panel alternative to phpMyAdmin.
     
    #3 Bashed, Feb 4, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2016
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. Bashed

    Bashed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, I have done that already but it's not working for me.

     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate on what in particular is not working?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page