The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to force mail/pops_noscript.html

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by NZGuru, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. NZGuru

    NZGuru Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can anybody please tell if(and how) I am able to force cPanel to use pops_noscript.html instead of pops.html?

    Why? I have a customized cPanel theme (note this ... customized, not just branded) and I have come across an unresolvable javascript conflict that is prevent the pops.html script from generating the slide down list of email accounts. My resolution (for the time being) is that a user clicks the 'use less javascript' link to bring up pops_noscript.html. So what I would to be able to do is sap those 2 pages over so that pops_noscript.html comes up by default.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Since you're doing a custom theme (which inherently breaks things anyway), why not just rename pops_noscript.html to pops.html?
     
  3. NZGuru

    NZGuru Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Don't laugh, but the simple reason is I can't find it :(

    Would you have access to that file as a reseller?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Resellers only have access to branding, not the ability to do custom themes. Custom theming can only be done via SSH by someone with root-level access at the command line.
     
  5. NZGuru

    NZGuru Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's what I thought. Thanks.

    So I go back to my original question ... how can I force cpanel to show pops_noscript.html :)
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Well considering that all you can do is branding (which does include doing custom javascript etc. if you want), how about we get to the core of the issue - what's causing the Javascript to fail? Given you're not doing a custom theme but are instead doing branding by virtue of insufficient access to do a custom theme, this should be something that can be fixed.
     
  7. NZGuru

    NZGuru Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Here is the FireBug console error message I get when going to the email accounts page
    Code:
    uncaught exception: [Exception... "Security error"  code: "1000" nsresult: "0x805303e8 (NS_ERROR_DOM_SECURITY_ERR)"  location: "http://cpanel.********.com/cPanel_magic_revision_1309940073/cjt/cpanel-all-min.js Line: 17"]
    http://cpanel.********.com/cPanel_magic_revision_1306916064/editarea/edit_area/edit_area_full.js
    Line 12
    Note that this is after I have disabled some of the custom js I had added which does some Cufon stuff and I can do without. I figured if we can get the cpanel pages working again first, then I look again at making everything look pretty :)

    Further, I still get the same error if I disable all additional javascript leaving only the original x3 javascript originally in the template.

    FYI ... I created our branding simply by taking a copy of x3 and adding additional HTML into the headers/footer to provide our header/sidebar/footer and left all 'cpanel content' areas intact. I removed no cpanel code from the templates. (or at least I believe I didn't)
     
    #7 NZGuru, Dec 24, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2011
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. NZGuru

    NZGuru Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I access via cpanel.*******.com which is how the url stays while navigating within cpanel.

    I will investigate the css and move all styling declarations into the cpanel css.html files to see if this resolves the issue. Thanks.

    On a side note (and I know this is not a cpanel issue, just venting a little), so how stupid is this error? If I understand it correctly, you can call a css file from another domain just so long as that css doesn't call any images??? And then why should that throw a javascript error which in turn stops the remaining javascript from working????
     
Loading...

Share This Page