The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to hide/remove FrontPage as an option

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ServerCafe, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. ServerCafe

    ServerCafe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any way to either remove FrontPage entirely from Web Host Manager or, at the very least, hide access to it so that FrontPage can never be enabled by any reseller?

    Thanks,
    Greg

    P.S. I have searched this forum and the web for info on this but could not find anything. Maybe I'm search engine challenged. :-(
     
  2. simplestar

    simplestar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    In WHM, if you go to Apache Update, recompile and be sure remove the checkmark for the FrontPage module. Or there' an option on left mid-way down the allows you to 'disable' it.
     
  3. ServerCafe

    ServerCafe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Rebuild of Apache doesn't work...

    In the Update Apache dialog, it says "Dynamic modules that were previously compiled into apache will not be removed." So, that doesn't remove FrontPage. Also, I'm not sure to what you are referring with "Or there' an option on left mid-way down the allows you to 'disable' it." There wasn't an option like this in the Apache Update dialog and I can't find it anywhere.

    Ideally, I would like FrontPage entirely off the system. Failing that, I really need for there to be absolutely no reference to FrontPage anywhere, i.e., no buttons, icons, nothing that would indicate that FrontPage is any kind of an option.
     
  4. simplestar

    simplestar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry, shouldn't have replied so late.

    In WHM, click 'Main' at the top to view the icons. You should see the FrontPage Icon. Clicking that, will allow you to select the following:

    Install FrontPage Extensions
    Install FrontPage Mail Extensions
    Uninstall FrontPage Extensions

    Login to your server with Putty and edit your httpd.conf:

    /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    In httpd.conf, look for <IfModule section and thereafter look for FrontPage. Disable it by adding the comment # at the very beginning of the FrontPage lines.

    To have the changes take affect you will need to restart Apache:

    service httpd restart OR /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart
     
  5. ServerCafe

    ServerCafe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Looked at httpd.conf

    Thanks for the tips.

    However, after having unchecked the FrontPage option in Update Apache and recompiling it, it appears that the process inserted the "#" in the httpd.conf file, as follows:

    #AddModule mod_frontpage.c

    That was the only reference to FrontPage in the entire file. My problem is that the Front Page options, icons, etc., still show up in Web Host Manager and CPanel.

    I really need to get rid of these.

    My goal is that there is no reference to FrontPage anywhere in WHM or CP.

    Your help is much appreciated.

    Greg

    P.S. You would think that, since CPanel makes it clear in their documentation that they do not recommend the use of FrontPage, they would make it easy to eliminate this malware.
     
  6. simplestar

    simplestar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Good, # already added in httpd.conf means the reply I gave in the beginning worked.
    As for getting rid of the icons in cPanel for the end-users, you could probably try trying updating your control panel in WHM or via SSH using:

    --comand---
    /scripts/upcp --force

    This is what I recommend. It won't rid your FrontPage icon in WHM, but it may do it for cPanel. Otherwise, you could go into SSH and do an slocate FrontPage which will find anything FrontPage. Frankly, unless you know what you doing, I do not recommend removing anything but frontpage gif/jpg/bmp or whatever the image format is. Removing an image is far less of a security risk the script modification if you don't udnerstand it.

    If you've never run that command before, it could take a few minutes as it needs to update the db. Keep in mind it does utlize resource when running it.

    UPDATE SLOCATE
    --command---
    locate -u

    Then find FrontPage
    slocate frontpage
     
  7. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I would suggest you to go to WHM >> Packages >> Feature Manager >> Edit default and uncheck FrontPage and save changes. This should remove Front page from the dedault package. And if that does not help then remove frontpage:Frontpage from /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/features.

    There no need to deleted any thing as it will get back on every cpanel update
     
  8. simplestar

    simplestar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    There no need to deleted any thing as it will get back on every cpanel update[/QUOTE

    Yes, Murtaza_t is right. I went out to dinner and oddly enough, this came to mind then but of course, I couldn't post until I got home.
     
  9. ServerCafe

    ServerCafe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You guys have been great!

    I really appreciate all of the help. Having just finished a college assignment, I am going to bed.

    In the morning, when my brain is a bit more clear, I'll check out your recommendations.

    This flu really hit me this time. <sigh>

    I cannot wait until June! :)
     
  10. ServerCafe

    ServerCafe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No luck...

    Sorry this took so long but between work and school there was just not enough time.

    In any event, removing the frontpage entry from the file removed it from the list in the default package template but the option still shows up if you select Add Packages. Something else that was interesting was that the option in the Create a New Package screen spells this option like this: "Frontpage Extentions" instead of "Frontpage Extensions".

    Anyway, this is very frustrating but I must go to the well again. Any help will be appreciated.

    UPDATE: After trying everything that has been recommended so far, FrontPage still appears in all of the usual places. Anyone that can show me how to block FrontPage from showing anywhere in WHM will truly be my hero. ...thanks...
     
    #10 ServerCafe, Jan 31, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2006
  11. ServerCafe

    ServerCafe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Update

    After getting a little rest (not too much, though) I was able to take a look around to see what effect the changes, thusfar, have had.

    Well, removing FrontPage from /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/features did, in fact, remove the FrontPage icon from CPanel. I guess I need to find the corresponding file related to WHM in order to get the icon out of there.

    If anyone gets an epiphany with regard to this problem, please don't hesitate in sharing.

    I have to admit, I am more than a bit surprised that no one has ever wanted to remove an icon from both WHM and CPanel. If I could just create a Reseller account that didn't show the FrontPage icon in WHM and CPanel, that would be a solution. I would simply make myself a reseller below root then just use that login to avoid the FrontPage stuff.

    Oh well. I'm not holding my breath while waiting for an answer but do hope one is forthcoming, eventually. Meanwhile, with each new day, I learn more and more about this product.
     
Loading...

Share This Page