The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to protect this link

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by marinanewman, Jan 3, 2003.

  1. marinanewman

    marinanewman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Client informed me today that if I go to

    http://serverip/bandwidth/

    And click on one of the months.. it shows ALL the clients on the server and how much bandwidth they are using..

    I don't care about the bandwidth figures but I do care about revealing my client list to the world..

    Any way to shut this down.. stop it.. protect it?
     
  2. Jammer2020

    Jammer2020 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You could always password protect it.
     
  3. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    not really a option when its a server-wide alias.

    Only thing you can do is comment out:

    Alias /bandwidth/

    in your http.conf
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    [quote:6f7b19d100][i:6f7b19d100]Originally posted by s3kk3y[/i:6f7b19d100]

    not really a option when its a server-wide alias.

    Only thing you can do is comment out:

    Alias /bandwidth/

    in your http.conf[/quote:6f7b19d100]

    We make it a habit of password protecting our /bandwidth and haven't had any problem. Works great.
     
  5. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    how do you password protect /bandwidth/ on all your hosted domains?
     
  6. marinanewman

    marinanewman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    never knew I had to.. was not informed by anyone that it was open access..
     
  7. s3kk3y

    s3kk3y Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    try changing the IP to any one of your hosted domains.

    Instead of:

    http://serverip/bandwidth/

    try:

    http://yourclientsdomain.com/bandwidth/

    Its a alias within http.conf so it works with all domains listed.
     
  8. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This thread helped me solve this problem:

    http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=40f7e596e09dd8732d8fb4156c0d9760&threadid=68117
     
  9. marinanewman

    marinanewman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thank you everyone... this is something cpanel should be protecting... and not somehting we should have to worry about..

    but will get it handled...
     
  10. mrbill

    mrbill Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks.

    Information was very helpful. Appreciate the post.
     
  11. iain-pczap.net

    iain-pczap.net Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thats not a BIG problem but its still a way of another host offering your users better offers...

    any other open access areas like this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page