The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need to use https for Cpanel

Discussion in 'Security' started by medeano, May 21, 2010.

  1. medeano

    medeano Registered

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi to all hope anyone can help and advise please i have done a mcafee pci scan on my site and it came back with 2 problems the one problem said-

    Vulnerability: Unencrypted Login Information Disclosure

    Description
    The remote host appears to allow logins over unencrypted (HTTP) connections. This means that a user's login information is sent over the internet in clear text. An attacker may be able to uncover login names and passwords by sniffing network traffic.


    General Solution
    Plain-text protocols should never by used to transmit sensitive information over the Internet. When passing login information to the web server, use HTTPS (SSLv3, TLS 1) instead of HTTP.

    Since i login to my website using https i know its not this, i asked wesh hosting who iam with and they just said put a "S" after http but that doesn't work surely its something they have to do their end..

    My Cpanel version is - 11.25.0-CURRENT

    Iam not clued up on these things could anyone kindly advise please

    Many thanks
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In your WHM > Tweak Settings > Redirection section you'll see some settings you might find useful, like this one:

     
  3. medeano

    medeano Registered

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorry to sound really thick but were do i find the WHM > Tweak Settings >
    Iam totaly out my depth with this stuff....

    Many thanks :confused:
     
  4. JawadArshad

    JawadArshad Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    PK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do you have administrator access of this server. WHM is the administrator panel and you can access it at https://yourserverIP:2087 after replacing 'yourserverIP' with the actual IP of your server. root user/pass will work at this URL.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,453
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might do better to speak with your host, I'm sure they can assist you with this.
     
  6. medeano

    medeano Registered

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi thanks for everyones help, i tried the https://yourserverIP:2087 but the user name and password that i orginaly use for my Cpanel doesn't work here, i contacted my hosting company and see what ifno they come back with this time...:confused:
     
  7. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can not login in WHM using cPanel user name & password. you can access by having root password https://yourserverIP:2087

    https://yourserverIP:2087 (WHM)
    https://yourserverIP:2083 (cPanel)
    https://yourserverIP:2096 (webmail)
     
Loading...

Share This Page