The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Needs Space on /home

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vishal, Jun 11, 2003.

  1. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Hello,

    I have this configuration of a Webhosting Server.

    RedHat 7.2 / WHM 6.4.2 Cpanel 6.4.2 s48
    AuthenticAMD
    AMD Duron(tm) processor
    1001.760 MHz
    cache size: 64 KB
    Memory: 503580k/516032k available (1153k kernel code, 9892k reserved, 974k
    data, 160k init, 0k highmem)
    Linux server 2.4.18-27.7.x #1 Fri Mar 14 05:51:23 EST 2003 i686 unknown
    hda: ST360021A, ATA DISK drive

    Current Disk Usage
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/hda5 2.9G 1.1G 1.7G 38% /
    /dev/hda1 45M 16M 27M 37% /boot
    /dev/hda7 36G 33G 1.6G 96% /home

    >From the Disk Usage it shows that /home partion is 96% filled and I don't
    have anything to delete on it. The data that is there on this partion is
    critical.

    I heared from somewhere about the Slave servers (Not DNS). Which i have
    never heard before so could anybody please flash some light on this Salve
    server, What are they? How do i setup and all or atleast put me on the path
    where i can find details for this kind of slave servers.

    I have googled and it gives me all the info regarding the DNS Slave servers
    which is noconcern with this.

    AFAIK i can add more space to the /home partion without disturbing the
    current setup.

    Correct me if i am wrong.

    Regards,

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. SouthernWeb

    SouthernWeb Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    Why not add another drive and mount it as /home2 ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    I think u misunderstood. I want to extend the space on /home without affecting the current setup i have on my server. Is there something like Slave Server.

    Regards,

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    What are Slave Servers ? (Not the DNS Ones).

    Regards,

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. bmcclure

    bmcclure Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Racine, WI
    If all youw ant to do is add space to your /home partition, put another hard drive in there and mount it as /home2. This will NOT affect your setup, and accounts will automatically start going to /home2 when /home is full.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. X-Istencedotcom

    X-Istencedotcom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Mount the second drive as /home2, and use cPanel's move feature and move some accounts over to the new partition, eitherway you will have to do this, or you could get trouble with clients who cant save their files since space is up.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page