Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Neither HTTP nor DNS DCV preflight checks succeeded

Discussion in 'Security' started by Lillike, Mar 7, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Lillike

    Lillike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hungary
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The following message received:

    The following cPanel service generated warnings from the checkallsslcerts script.
    ⚠ cpanel​
    The system failed to acquire a signed certificate from the cPanel Store because of the following error: Neither HTTP nor DNS DCV preflight checks succeeded!


    AutoSSL checked: AutoSSL run.

    The system has finished checking all users.

    12:45:03 PM Analyzing …
    12:45:03 PM SUCCESS TLS Status: OK

    VPS:
    • CENTOS 6.10 virtuozzo

    • v78.0.15



    Please, advice.
     
    #1 Lillike, Mar 7, 2019
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2019
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Lillike,

    Can you review this post and verify if the workaround helps?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Lillike

    Lillike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hungary
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Thanks for your answer.

    I tried to configure ipv6.

    /etc/sysconfig/network: NETWOTKING_IPV6=yes

    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:

    added IPV6address and default gateway: :::ff:::

    after server restarted

    But

    root@ip-192-xxx-xxx [/]# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1....
    inet addr:192.xxxx Bcast:192.xxx Mask:255.xxx


    Please, advice... Thanks.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Lillike,

    There's no need to configure IPv6 address in order to address the issue reported on that thread. The issue reported on that thread occurs because the IPv6 virtual host isn't setup when the hostname resolves to an IPv6 address. Can you revert the change you made and instead open a support ticket so we can take a closer look to see why DCV is failing on your system? You can post the ticket number here and we'll link this thread to it.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Lillike

    Lillike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hungary
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Thanks Michael.
    My Support Request ID is: 11646629.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Lillike,

    To update, it looks like this was the result of your license provider disabling the AutoSSL features on your server. Can you confirm if your AutoSSL questions have been addressed?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Lillike

    Lillike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hungary
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hi Michael,
    To tell you the truth, I have already contacted with GoDaddy support (hosting provider) and the agent suggested me to turn off the notification - nothing else... :(

    Naturally, all messages received every day.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Lillike,

    I recommend contacting them again to request a verification about their policy regarding the use of AutoSSL on cPanel & WHM servers. Let me know the outcome, as if it's not permitted, then /scripts/checkallsslcerts should be able to detect that instead of reporting the precheck failure message.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Lillike

    Lillike Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hungary
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hello Michael,

    I have already contacted with my hosting provider. So Let's Encrypt offered as 3-party SSL.
    I can see the following on their homepage:
    We recommend that most people with shell access use the Certbot ACME client. It can automate certificate issuance and installation with no downtime.


    And the following article/post can be found:
    You must not run Certbot on cPanel. It is not compatible and can very badly screw up your virtual hosts.
    Which folder to install Cerbot on a Virtual Private Server(VPS)?

    Please, advice. Thanks.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Lillike,

    We provide a Let's Encrypt plugin as part of the AutoSSL feature only. If your license provider is not allowing AutoSSL certificates, then you'd have to explore setting up a third-party solution such as certbot. This third-party utility isn't something that we test with on cPanel & WHM so it's not recommended unless you're an experienced system administrator with the capacity to test the implementation on a non-production server. Additionally, keep in mind that you'd have to manually generate all certificates (or setup a custom script to generate them automatically) and it won't integrate with any of the AutoSSL features in cPanel or Web Host Manager.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice