The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

netstat -na 99% CPU

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by phantom2, Mar 5, 2004.

  1. phantom2

    phantom2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,
    Can anyone tell me what's causing this and tell me how to correct this? Thanks!

    Top Process %CPU 99.9 netstat -na


    Top Process %CPU 87.5 /usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-redhat-linux/3.2.2/cc1 -lang-c -I./lib -I. -D__GNUC__3 -D__GNUC_MINOR__2 -D__GNUC_PATCHLEVEL__2 -D__GXX_ABI_VERSION102 -D__ELF__ -Dunix -D__gnu_linux__ -Dlinux -D__ELF__ -D__unix__ -D__gnu_linux__ -D__linux__ -D__unix -D__linux -Asystemposix -D__OPTIMIZE__ -D__STDC_HOSTED__1 -Acpui386 -Amachinei386 -Di386 -D__i386 -D__i386__ -D__tune_i386__ -D__PIC__ -D__pic__ -DPIC lib/xmltok.c -quiet -dumpbase xmltok.c -g -O2 -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes -Wstrict-prototypes -fexceptions -fPIC -o /tmp/ccWiRc1b.s


    Top Process %CPU 86.5 /usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-redhat-linux/3.2.2/cc1 -lang-c -Iext/xml/ -I/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.3/ext/xml/ -I/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.3/include -I/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.3/main -I/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.3 -I/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.3/Zend -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/include/mysql -I/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.3/ext/xml/expat -I/home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.3/TSRM -D__GNUC__3 -D__GNUC_MINOR__2 -D__GNUC_PATCHLEVEL__2 -D__GXX_ABI_VERSION102 -D__ELF__ -Dunix -D__gnu_linux__ -Dlinux -D__ELF__ -D__unix__ -D__gnu_linux__ -D__linux__ -D__unix -D__linux -Asystemposix -D__OPTIMIZE__ -D__STDC_HOSTED__1 -Acpui386 -Amachinei386 -Di386 -D__i386 -D__i386__ -D__tune_i386__ -D__PIC__ -D__pic__ -DBYTEORDER1234 -DPHP_ATOM_INC -DPIC /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/php-4.3.3/ext/xml/expat/xmltok.c -quiet -dumpbase xmltok.c -g -O2 -fPIC -o /tmp/ccubMjb5.s
     
  2. Worelock

    Worelock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same issue

    I also seem to have netstat hogging processor power.
    %CPU 45.0 netstat -nlp

    and it will sit like that for hours, anyone know why that might be?

    Paul
     
  3. speckados

    speckados Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Acequias :: Granada :: España
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
  4. Rubas

    Rubas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. speckados

    speckados Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Acequias :: Granada :: España
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    And ?


    Very interinsting LSM but I think the question it's for Cpanel Memebers....
     
  6. Rubas

    Rubas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The question is do you know what is running on your server?
    This netstat processes are typically for LSM or former known as PMON and has nothing to do with cpanel.
     
  7. speckados

    speckados Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Acequias :: Granada :: España
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    It's simple. I've too much work with stupid question fo Cpanel (15 machines) and on every upgrade a new question or problem appears. Also change log it's a very ****. Too much changes on every Upgrade, but a lot changes on system WHM+CPanel.

    Go here, and write question and put a ticket to support.

    If you send me to a script (I sue BDF, APF and others) you reply not say anything.

    And question, it's why netstat process run with a lot CPU usage?

    That it 's question. (And this question it's normal, if just after upgrade WHM+CPanel.

    A nice day.
     
  8. adapter

    adapter Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    the same here, any news? ;(
     
  9. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same problem here...

    Michael
     
  10. chae

    chae Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    We don't have LSM running on the servers, we do have some of their other products...

    SIM (System Integrity Monitor) & PRM (Process Resource Monitor)

    And we also see that resources being chewed up by netstat
     

Share This Page