Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Network is unreachable in CentOS 7 after cPanel install + restart

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sykoi, Sep 26, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Sykoi

    Sykoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I followed the instructions here and then here to disable the network manager, I installed cPanel and got it working fine. I added extra IP addresses then restarted the server. Now when I try to ping 8.8.8.8 on the server through proxmox's console I get 'Network is unreachable', and I'm unable to connect to the server remotely.

    My ifcfg-eth0 file:
    Code:
        TYPE="Ethernet"
        PROXY_METHOD="none"
        BROWSER_ONLY="no"
        BOOTPROTO="none"
        DEFROUTE="yes"
        IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL="no"
        NAME="eth0"
        UUID=...
        DEVICE="eth0"
        ONBOOT="yes"
        HWADDR=My Virtual Mac from OVH
        IPADDR=IP assigned to VPS
        PREFIX="32"
        GATEWAY=Correct gateway for my OVH server
        DNS1=8.8.8.8
        DNS2=8.8.4.4
    
    When I run ifconfig -a (Shortening to relevant parts):
    Code:
        eth0: ...
        inet IPOfVPS netmask 255.255.255.255 broadcast: IPOfVPS
       
        eth0cp1-4:
        inet IPs netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast: IP but with .255 as the last number
    
    I had to retype everything manually since I can't copy/paste from proxmox's console, but the relevant information should be there. If anymore information is needed, let me know in a comment.
    To be clear: Networking was working until I restarted, which I only did after finishing the cPanel install and adding additional IPs. I'm also using the latest version of everything - I just installed cPanel last night.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Sykoi,

    Can you open a support ticket so we can take a closer look at your system and determine if there's anything in the cPanel & WHM configuration that's leading to the issue you have reported? You can post the ticket number here and we will link this thread to the ticket.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Sykoi

    Sykoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    After testing, I've figured out the problem exists regardless of a cPanel install - it's purely the turning off NetworkManager that does it.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi @Sykoi,

    I appreciate the additional information. I'd like to reproduce this behavior so we can add a note to our Linux Containers document in order to inform ProxMox users about this caveat. Can you confirm which specific OS is installed on both the host and the guest?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Sykoi

    Sykoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Here's the steps to reproduce it:

    I installed CentOS 7 using the minimal ISO on my Proxmox VPS (Hosted on SoYouStart / OVH - noted since they have weird networking policies), configured my ifcfg-eth0 file. After that I was able to use yum update, ping 8.8.8.8, connect via SSH, etc.
    After following this guide to disable network manager and restarting - I'm no longer able to do anything network related, including pinging 8.8.8.8 (I get 'connect: Network is unreachable')
    My ifcfg-eth0:
    Code:
    TYPE=Ethernet
    PROXY_METHOD=none
    BROWSER_ONLY=no
    BOOTPROTO="none"
    DEFROUTE=yes
    IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=no
    IPV6INIT=yes
    IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes
    IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes
    IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no
    IPV6_ADDR_GEN_MODE=stable-privacy
    NAME=eth0
    UUID=My UUID
    DEVICE=eth0
    ONBOOT="yes"
    HWADDR=My VPS's virtual mac
    IPADDR=XXX.XXX.192.145
    PREFIX=24
    GATEWAY=Main IP on my proxmox box gateway IP (XXX.XXX.XXX.254)
    DNS1=8.8.8.8
    DNS2=8.8.4.4
    IPV6_PRIVACY=no
    ARPCHECK="no"
    NETMASK=255.255.255.255
    

    Host:
    cat /etc/os-release
    Code:
    PRETTY_NAME="Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)"
    NAME="Debian GNU/Linux"
    VERSION_ID="9"
    VERSION="9 (stretch)"
    ID=debian
    HOME_URL="https://www.debian.org/"
    SUPPORT_URL="https://www.debian.org/support"
    BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.debian.org/"
    
    Guest:
    cat /etc/os-release
    Code:
    NAME="CentOS Linux"
    VERSION="7 (Core)"
    ID="centos"
    ID_LIKE="rhel fedora"
    VERSION_ID="7"
    PRETTY_NAME="CentOS Linux 7 (Core)"
    ANSI_COLOR="0;31"
    CPE_NAME="cpe:/o:centos:centos:7"
    HOME_URL="https://www.centos.org/"
    BUG_REPORT_URL="https://bugs.centos.org/"
    CENTOS_MANTISBT_PROJECT="CentOS-7"
    CENTOS_MANTISBT_PROJECT_VERSION="7"
    REDHAT_SUPPORT_PRODUCT="centos"
    REDHAT_SUPPORT_PRODUCT_VERSION="7"
    
    @cPanelMichael can you keep me updated on the issue?
     
    #5 Sykoi, Oct 1, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 7, 2018
  6. Fernando V

    Fernando V Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Catalonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You have to create a Failover IP and assign a virtual MAC to said Failover IP.

    Read the OVH documentation.

    Regards.
     
  7. Sykoi

    Sykoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I did both
     
  8. Fernando V

    Fernando V Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Catalonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you restart the network afterwards so that the changes are applied?

    Code:
    # sudo systemctl restart network.service
    Put the results here, removing sensitive data.

    Verify new IP settings:

    Code:
    # ip addr
    Code:
    # ip a s eth0
    Verify new routing settings:

    Code:
    # ip r
    Verify DNS servers settings:

    Code:
    # cat /etc/resolv.conf
    Verify the internet connectivity:

    Code:
    # ping -c 3 cpanel.net
    More info:

    OVH - Proxmox VE

    Regards.


     
    #8 Fernando V, Oct 2, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2018
  9. Sykoi

    Sykoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    ip addr:
    (Ignoring lo)
    Code:
    eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP) mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default glen 1000
    link/ether virtualmacfromovh brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet VPS IP/24 brd first 3 numbers of vps ip then .255 scope global eth0
    valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    
    ip r
    Code:
    169.254.0.0/16 dev eth0 scope link metric 1002
    first 3 numbers of vps ip then .0/24 dev eth0 proto kernel scope link src vpsip
    
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    Code:
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4
    
    ping -c 3 cpanel.net
    Code:
    ping: cpanel.net: Name or service not known
    
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Sykoi,

    I recommend contacting your provider to verify the network settings on your server are configured properly. In particular, have them ensure the gateway and subnet mask are setup correctly to their requirements.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Suertzz

    Suertzz Registered

    Joined:
    May 16, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    France
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi @Sykoi,

    I have exactly the same problem as you, after disabling Network manager, install cpanel and restart the server I lost internet (installation under proxmox with quemu, ip failover OVH, Centos 7). I searched everywhere and found nothing conclusive, did you find a solution please ?

    Thank in advance :(
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    47,009
    Likes Received:
    2,123
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello @Suertzz,

    Can you open a support ticket so we can take a closer look at your system? You can post the ticket number here and we will link this thread to the ticket.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice