The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New account not created inside /home

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hbhb, Sep 6, 2013.

  1. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    One of my existing server has messed up by my previous sys admin
    New account that I create recently is not created inside /home

    It's assigned to my old primary hdd which I mount into the server called /oldhome

    So this new account is at 'partition' /oldhome

    I can see the new account 'qxxx.net' inside 'List Account' but no folder exist inside /home/qxxx or /oldhome/home/qxxx

    I clicked Basic Cpanel & WHM Setup & found that the home directory /home is assigned correctly.
    How do I get this fixed?
     
  2. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Moving accounts from /oldhome to /home partition

    I am having problem to move accounts from /oldhome to /home partition

    I submitted a cpanel ticket and seems like they are wanting me to hire an admin instead of giving me answers.

    My question is: How do I move accounts increated inside /oldhome partition to /home ?

    I have already copied the folder from /oldhome into /home
    And chown -R username:username /home/username

    What is the next step I should do?
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can use the following option to move an account from one home directory to another:

    "WHM Home » Account Functions » Rearrange an Account"

    However, if it's a new account and no data has been populated, you may want to terminate the account and create it on the correct partition. You can choose the home directory via:

    "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Basic cPanel & WHM Setup"

    Make sure the /home directory exists, and is not a symbolic link to another location.

    Thank you.
     
  4. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When I click WHM > Rearrange Account > clicked the domain

    It says:

    New mount point for this account /boot does not match “home”
    Sorry, there is only one usable partition detected on this machine matching “home”

    How do I deal with this?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It indicates the partition the account currently exists on is not configured as a home directory. You mentioned this is a new account. Have you already added data to it? Is there anything keeping you from backing up or terminating the account so it can be created on the correct partition? Could you let us know the ticket number associated with the support ticket that you opened?

    Thank you.
     
  6. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    The one i mentioned is not a new account. It's an existing account.

    I submitted the case but not helpful, the ticket # is 4339433

    In the ticket I have asked for a guide how do I move accounts from /oldhome to /home but I was told that it's out of scope and I need to hire an admin. Which is not what I want, I want to learn to find the right way to do it, instead of paying for for someone to do it.
     
    #6 hbhb, Sep 6, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2013
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Per the support ticket, it's not clear that you actually created the account on the "/oldhome" partition through Web Host Manager. It looks like you may have simply moved the account's home directory from a failed hard drive, and that is not a supported method of restoring an account.

    Please try backing up the account via:

    Code:
    /scripts/pkgacct username
    Does this complete successfully? If so, you can backup the account, terminate it, and then it will restore the account on the /home directory automatically during restoration. Note that you will not be able to package the account if you simply moved the account's home directory to the /oldhome partition from a failed hard drive.

    Thank you.
     
  8. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Previously it was a symlinks

    /home/username {symlink} would point to /oldhome/username

    I have since removed the symlinks

    And cp -a /oldhome/username as /home/username

    I couldn't make a successful pkgacct as they came out with multiple errors.
    For example:

    Storing mysql dbs............
    horde.turba_objectswarn [pkgacct] horde.turba_objects: mysqldump: Couldn't execute 'show fields from `turba_objects`': Can't create/write to file '/tmp/#sql_791_0.MYI' (Errcode: 17) (1)

    How do I undo everything and make a symlink so I can mount /dev/sdc2 back to /oldhome again to make the sites working... What is the command to make a symlink?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check to see if the /tmp partition is at 100% space or inode usage:
    Code:
    df -h
    df -i
    If it's not, try checking on the state of the horde database with a command such as:

    Code:
    mysqlcheck horde
    Thank you.
     
  10. hbhb

    hbhb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Everything is fine

    I cannot create the backup because it cannot pack as they are addressing the files as /oldhome/username

    Creating Archive ....tar process 20647 exited with status 2: b_find(): /oldhome/cxxxxxxx: No such file or directory at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/IO/Tarball.pm line 198.

    # df
    Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda2 955669244 641974640 265149376 71% /
    tmpfs 4026256 0 4026256 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/sda1 99150 58464 35566 63% /boot
    /dev/sda5 493859 20703 447659 5% /tmp

    # mysqlcheck horde
    horde.horde_alarms OK
    horde.horde_cache OK
    horde.horde_datatree OK
    horde.horde_datatree_attributes OK
    horde.horde_groups OK
    horde.horde_groups_members OK
    horde.horde_histories OK
    horde.horde_histories_seq OK
    horde.horde_locks OK
    horde.horde_perms OK
    horde.horde_prefs OK
    horde.horde_sessionhandler OK
    horde.horde_signups OK
    horde.horde_syncml_anchors OK
    horde.horde_syncml_map OK
    horde.horde_tokens OK
    horde.horde_users OK
    horde.horde_vfs OK
    horde.imp_sentmail OK
    horde.ingo_forwards OK
    horde.ingo_lists OK
    horde.ingo_rules OK
    horde.ingo_shares OK
    horde.ingo_shares_groups OK
    horde.ingo_shares_users OK
    horde.ingo_spam OK
    horde.ingo_vacations OK
    horde.kronolith_events OK
    horde.kronolith_shares OK
    horde.kronolith_shares_groups OK
    horde.kronolith_shares_seq OK
    horde.kronolith_shares_users OK
    horde.kronolith_storage OK
    horde.mnemo_memos OK
    horde.mnemo_shares OK
    horde.mnemo_shares_groups OK
    horde.mnemo_shares_seq OK
    horde.mnemo_shares_users OK
    horde.nag_shares OK
    horde.nag_shares_groups OK
    horde.nag_shares_seq OK
    horde.nag_shares_users OK
    horde.nag_tasks OK
    horde.turba_objects OK
    horde.turba_shares OK
    horde.turba_shares_groups OK
    horde.turba_shares_seq OK
    horde.turba_shares_users OK

    Could I go back to my previous question:

    1. What is the command to make a symlink?
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The command to create a symbolic link would be:

    Code:
    ln -s /oldhome/username123 /home/username123
    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page