The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New account quota says 160MB used.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 4u123, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Customer signed up yesteday, logged into cpanel for the first time and his quota says he has used 160MB of his 500MB. It shows 160Mb used in WHM too.

    His disk space usage tool says he has used 0.36MB. I have run a fixquotas but this hasnt fixed it.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. karlos

    karlos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem in a recently WHM updated server with

    cPanel 11.24.4-S33268 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9 CENTOS 5.2

    The problem is that the new accounts have a low user id (500, 501, ...) wich have been previously used by other process and their files. When Cpanel counts the disk usage of users, it counts all the files owned by these uids.

    The previous other users accounts starts with UIDS and GIDS from 32000 and so on.

    For example, when I create a new account with the user name "atestkmg" in WHM, shows 77MB of Disk Usage. When I do a search of the files owned by the new user, I found this:

    Code:
    [root@host9 ~]# find / -user atestkmg -ls | head
    20643873    4 drwxr-xr-x   3 atestkmg atestkmg     4096 Jan 17  2007 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/lib
    20643874    4 drwxr-xr-x   2 atestkmg atestkmg     4096 Jan 17  2007 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/lib/Acme
    20643875    8 -rw-r--r--   1 atestkmg wheel        6351 Jan 17  2007 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/lib/Acme/Spork.pm
    20643876    4 drwxr-xr-x   2 atestkmg atestkmg     4096 Jan 17  2007 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/t
    20643877    4 -rw-r--r--   1 atestkmg atestkmg      471 Jan  6  2006 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/t/Acme-Spork.t
    20643878    4 -rw-r--r--   1 atestkmg atestkmg      377 Jan  8  2006 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/Makefile.PL
    20643879    4 -rw-r--r--   1 atestkmg atestkmg     1190 Jan 17  2007 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/Changes
    20643880    4 -rw-r--r--   1 atestkmg atestkmg      148 Jan  8  2006 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/MANIFEST
    20643881    4 -rw-r--r--   1 atestkmg atestkmg      380 Jan 17  2007 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/META.yml
    20643884    4 -rw-r--r--   1 atestkmg atestkmg      589 Jan 17  2007 /home/.cpan/build/Acme-Spork-v0.0.7-rUNJYc/README
    
    [root@host9 build]# tail -n3 /etc/passwd
    acutangl:x:32116:32118::/home/acutangl:/bin/bash
    saberviv:x:500:500::/home/saberviv:/bin/bash
    atestkmg:x:501:501::/home/atestkmg:/bin/bash
    [root@host9 build]#
    
    [root@host9 build]# tail -n3 /etc/group
    acutangl:x:32118:
    saberviv:x:500:
    atestkmg:x:501:
    [root@host9 build]#
    

    Can I change the UID and GID of users without breaking Cpanel??


    Can I delete the folder "/home/.cpan/build/" ?


    Thanks in advance for any information.

    Karlos
     
  4. greengiant

    greengiant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    I had this same issue and opened a bug report.
    http://bugzilla.cpanel.net/show_bug.cgi?id=8565

    To change your UID and GID for the user that was created with the low UID and GIDs, do the following.

    Lookup the highest UID in /etc/passwd and last GID in /etc/group

    So if the last UID and GID are 33096

    Then run

    usermod -u 33097 USERNAME
    groupmod -g 33097 USERNAME

    replacing the USERNAME with the cpanel username you want to fix.

    Once you change all the users, go the WHM and under the "Basic cPanel/WHM Setup" set the Minimum UID to the a number greater then your highest UID..
     
  5. dolphyn

    dolphyn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same problem here, and the suggestion above seems to have fixed it.

    Thanks GreenGiant!

    EDIT: As noted by HostIt and others below, this method has some problems and is not a complete fix.
     
    #5 dolphyn, Jan 19, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2009
  6. Bruceper

    Bruceper Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just came across this issue as well, a bit of a pain but nice to know there's a simple way to resolve it.
     
  7. greengiant

    greengiant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    No problem happy to provide the fix. CPanel confirmed my bug report, so lets hope a fix shows up today. Having to run my fix manually on a large number of servers is a pain..

    Thanks,
     
  8. linux.newbie

    linux.newbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    uids causing quota issues

    On a couple of servers, when new accounts are created, the uid is getting assigned in the range of 501, 502 etc. Normally cpanel used to allot uids in 5 digits like 32011 etc.

    The new ones are having quota issues even though the accounts is newly created with no data uploaded. The quota shows files exist on /home and /usr partitions and searching the username and uid recursively does not reveal anything on /home outside the original home directory.

    Anyone else facing the same issue ?
     
  9. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The latest builds have been changed to never assign a uid under 510.
     
  10. carluk

    carluk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What about existing users?
     
  11. jpenner

    jpenner Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It appears that in "Basic cPanel/WHM Setup" in WHM, the setting for "Minimum UID" is now blank.

    Change this back and any new users will have the right UIDs... You will still have to fix the ones that were created incorrectly.
     
  12. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    new accounts have 125MB used when created

    Since the stable tree was updated, one by one all my servers running the stable version are showing 125MB used on a newly created account.

    account from whm-->list accounts
    and
    user's cpanel main page stats show 125MB :confused:

    however the Disk usage viewer in user cpanel shows shows 0.14MB.

    Tried searching forums, can anyone link me to any such issue/thread before ?

    thanks
     
  13. cpanelinfoseeker

    cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NE Illinois
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Follow the fix in message #4 (greengiant) in this thread. The only thing I had to do after that was to re-apply the assigned package to the user and all seems fine (for now).

    Ron

    UPDATE: Found error in upgrading :
    /bin/tar: Pod-Simple-3.07/ChangeLog: Cannot change ownership to uid 501, gid 501: Disk quota exceeded
    several other similar errors also.

    I'm now sending in a ticket.
    Ron
     
    #13 cpanelinfoseeker, Jan 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  14. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    thanks all for the suggestions,


    I'll try the solution and post the results soon.
     
  15. HostIt

    HostIt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    There's unfortunately one very large problem with this method, as I've just discovered.

    Doing it this way will set the group ownership of all of their files to the old GID (501 for example) and will leave the /etc/passwd file with the wrong GID. These problems may well cause an Internal Server Error on their website depending on your setup, among other issues.

    If you have done this and you see that their files do all have group ownership of 50x instead of "username", you'll want to run the following command - with usual caution and be sure you know what you're doing...

    Example of bad group ownership on user "joebloggs" after running the above two commands:
    drwxr-xr-x 12 joebloggs 501 4096 Dec 25 01:41 public_html/

    Command to fix it:
    find / -group 501 -exec chgrp -h joebloggs {} \;

    Result:
    drwxr-xr-x 12 joebloggs joebloggs 4096 Dec 25 01:41 public_html/

    The correct way to change the GID and UID is as follows:


    groupmod -g 33097 USERNAME
    usermod -u 33097 -g 33097 USERNAME

    Make sure you run the groupmod first, and also set the GID in the usermod command. This will ensure you don't face the problem above :)

    You'll also probably have to run "chown -R root.root /home/.cpan/build" afterwards, as that seems to be where these incorrect ownership issues are occurring and causing inflated usage figures for these users.
     
    #15 HostIt, Jan 22, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2009
  16. safitech

    safitech Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Quota issues with non-new users too?

    I'm noticing some quota issues with users that aren't new... some have unexpectedly jumped from 6GB to 11GB... the 'Disk Usage' icon shows the correct amount but within WHM and as far as the quota checks go it things the account is 11GB. This is causing the user to get emails, and we have to increase the quotas temporarily so the accounts are usable as it pushed some over their limits.

    I'm guessing this is in regards to the same problem since it just started like a day or so ago.

    Ideas? Thoughts? Fix coming in a new STABLE build tonight?

    If a CPanel admin wants to use our server to check and verify this please see [cPanel ID# 367646]
     
    #16 safitech, Jan 22, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  17. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is unrelated. The problem happens on new accounts only.
     
  18. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ive had this problem with a new account yesterday. When you say "the latest builds" what do you mean exactly?

    We have....

    cPanel 11.24.4-R33472 - WHM 11.24.2

    ....and the issue is not fixed.
     
  19. sergio2004

    sergio2004 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro
    Hi All,

    I try solve the problem using...

    ==============================================
    "The correct way to change the GID and UID is as follows:

    groupmod -g 33097 USERNAME
    usermod -u 33097 -g 33097 USERNAME

    Make sure you run the groupmod first, and also set the GID in the usermod command. This will ensure you don't face the problem above"
    ==============================================

    But after I do this the uid and gid have the same number, like username(33100)/username(33100) with the folder permission 0755 and all the other users have in the folders the permission 0711 with the different number beside the usernames, like for example: username(33110)/username(33112).

    The number of uid allways is less 2 then the number of gid in all of the users.

    I put in the WHM "Basic cPanel/WHM Setup" the Minimum UID like "jpenner" said and now when I created a new account the uid and gid have the same numbers.

    Is it right?

    And the worst thing is that the account that I change the uid and gid loose the reference with it package and don`t permit to create an email account. I upgrade it to same package and the quota appear right but the problems with the email and the other things of package still occour.

    Please, how can I solve this problem?

    Thank you.
     
  20. MRiscado

    MRiscado Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I have the same problem.
    First ... cPanel create new accounts with low GID and UID.
    I have high quota in domains without any files.
    After I changed the minimum ID in "Basic cPanel/WHM Setup"... the uid and gid won the same number, exactly like the sergio2004 wrote.
    (cPanel 11.24.4-S33345 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9)
    Any idea?
     
Loading...

Share This Page