The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Backup Destination Timeout

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by mhofer, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. mhofer

    mhofer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm Trying to create a custom destination. It works so far, one thing i got problems is the Timeout we can specify in the webinterface.

    According to the documentation the maximum timeout is 300 seconds, however it can take more to transfer some users to the other server which will result in additional put-calls and eventually an error...

    is there some way to increase this or can the custom script report something back like 'i'm still running, please wait...'?

    regards,
    Marcel
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The timeout value should not be an issue if an active upload is occurring. Are you sure the timeout is not coming from the FTP configuration on the remote server? What specific error message do you see?

    Thank you.
     
  3. mhofer

    mhofer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hi,

    the destination is actually a custom backup utility called 'duplicity' wrapped around a bash-script which runs a sync-job for the current file. when this is running for more than 300 seconds the backup calls my custom script again, and after another 300 seconds again, etc. until it disables my custom destination due to too many errors, however the sync was still running.

    each time the script gets called another sync-job starts and messes up the destination.

    here is the log of calls from a test-run (with 30s timeout to demonstrate):
    the backup continues but will not use the custom-script anymore. this is what i recieve per e-mail after backup completion:
    do i understand something wrong about the custom backup destination?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a bug report for this issue so we can have our developers determine if this behavior should be modified, or if an additional option should be made available to disable the timeout? You can open a bug report via:

    Submit A Bug Report

    Please post the ticket number you receive here so we can keep this thread updated.

    Thank you.
     
  5. mhofer

    mhofer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael

    I just tried to submit a bug-report however i seem to be unable in chrome and firefox :/

    When i click 'Continue' after filling out everything nothing happens (firebug shows a javascript error: ReferenceError: display_next_step is not defined).
    When i click Enter on the IP-Field i receive the following error message:
    The provided IP and support access id do not match.

    However i cant specify a support-id and i was able to submit a ticket for the same server ip under the same account a few weeks ago... seems like the bug-report system is bugged? ;)

    What should i do?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open up the bug report as a support ticket, and include the information you provided about not being able to submit it to the bug report queue? This will allow us to address both issues.

    Thank you.
     
  7. mhofer

    mhofer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have done so, ticket #4192481

    looking forward on a solution :)

    thanks you
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, there is an internal case open with our developers to increase the backup timeout value in seconds up to 50000. For reference, the case number is 69433.

    Thank you.
     
  9. schoeps

    schoeps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am getting the same error "Reason: Transport surpassed error threshhold with “4” errors", will increasing the timout value help?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are your backups large enough that it's legitimately taking an extended time frame to send them to the remote destination? The ability to adjust the timeout value is implemented with case 69433 in cPanel 11.38.0.17. This version is currently not yet available in the "Release" build tier.

    Thank you.
     
  11. mhofer

    mhofer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael

    Just saw the note about case 69433 in the changelog, however after upgrading I can still only set timeouts between 30-300...?

    @schoeps: increasing the timeout might help, but not solve your problem unless you have a maximum account size which is always transferred within that timeout... also your destination might not work properly, so no timeout will help, only fixing the destination
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What version of cPanel are you using? The change implemented with case 69433 is currently only available in cPanel 11.38.0.17 (Edge and Current build tiers). In "WHM Home » Backup » Backup Configuration", you should see an option called "Advanced Settings" that you can select to see the "Maximum destination timeout" value.

    Thank you.
     
  13. mhofer

    mhofer Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ah found it, thank you!
    i was looking at Backup -> Backup Configuration -> Additional Destination
    There was a timeout too... how do those 2 timeouts effect each other?
     
  14. schoeps

    schoeps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Thanks for responding. Yes, the backups exceed 8GB on some accounts, legacy had no problem here.
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Case 69433 deals with the backup destination time out value. If a separate timeout value is still causing you problems, please open a new ticket dealing with that specific time out.

    Thank you.
     
  16. schoeps

    schoeps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Build 17 does not support numbers higher than 300.
     
  17. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What specific value are you attempting to modify?

    Thank you.
     
  18. schoeps

    schoeps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The "Timeout" value for remote backup/ additional destination.
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please paste the output of the following command:

    Code:
    # cat /usr/local/cpanel/version
    Also, to confirm, you are not able to set the "Maximum destination timeout" under "Advanced Settings" in "WHM Home » Backup » Backup Configuration" to a value higher than 300?

    Thank you.
     
  20. schoeps

    schoeps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I misread the thread. I thought you had said build 17 would allow for the "50000" fix, but apparently, not. All is correct, but those big transfers are not working. Any ETA on the patch?
     
Loading...

Share This Page