The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Backup - Issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vlee, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just noticed when I do a restore in the new backup system after making changes to a website that it still leaves the files and new folders that were changed and/or added.

    So site became really broken and not working and I had to restore it manually which takes a lot of time to on a large website.

    The legacy backup did not do this it.

    So something is wrong with the new backup system when restoring websites.
     
  2. MilesWeb

    MilesWeb Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is the size of website that is being backed up ? Do you face the same issue with every account (small OR large) ?
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,761
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you let us know which specific option you are using to restore the account? Are you restoring it through cPanel or Web Host Manager?

    Thank you.
     
  4. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does not matter if it is large or small it is the same issue it acts like the restore process is set to Incremental instead of what is really set in the New Backup system.

    I have my servers set to

    Backup Type Compressed

    Something that cPanel needs to look at.
     
  5. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In WHM

    Home » Backup »Backup Configuration

    Backup Type is set to to Compressed


    Home » Backup » Backup Restoration

    I have the following selected

    Additional Options
    Restore Subdomains
    Restore Mail Configuration
    Restore MySQL
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,761
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This behavior is by design. I see this same behavior when restoring an account with the legacy backup system when the account still exists. You will need to terminate the account before restoring the backup if you prefer to restore to the exact state the account was in at the time of the backup generation. You are welcome to submit a feature request for changes to the restore feature at:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
  7. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you I will submit something today some time today for a feature to restore account in the last exact state without removing the account in the new backup system.

    This new backup system takes a lot less time to backup and I like that compare to take 5 to 10 hours to backup.
     
  8. vlee

    vlee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United Stat
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I submitted a feature request for all those who want to know.

    A feature to be added to the new backup system | cPanel Feature Requests
     
Loading...

Share This Page