vlee

Well-Known Member
Oct 13, 2005
374
26
178
Spokane, Washington
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I just noticed when I do a restore in the new backup system after making changes to a website that it still leaves the files and new folders that were changed and/or added.

So site became really broken and not working and I had to restore it manually which takes a lot of time to on a large website.

The legacy backup did not do this it.

So something is wrong with the new backup system when restoring websites.
 

MilesWeb

Well-Known Member
PartnerNOC
May 23, 2012
173
2
68
India
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Twitter
What is the size of website that is being backed up ? Do you face the same issue with every account (small OR large) ?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,202
363
Hello :)

Could you let us know which specific option you are using to restore the account? Are you restoring it through cPanel or Web Host Manager?

Thank you.
 

vlee

Well-Known Member
Oct 13, 2005
374
26
178
Spokane, Washington
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
What is the size of website that is being backed up ? Do you face the same issue with every account (small OR large) ?
Does not matter if it is large or small it is the same issue it acts like the restore process is set to Incremental instead of what is really set in the New Backup system.

I have my servers set to

Backup Type Compressed

Something that cPanel needs to look at.
 

vlee

Well-Known Member
Oct 13, 2005
374
26
178
Spokane, Washington
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
In WHM

Home » Backup »Backup Configuration

Backup Type is set to to Compressed


Home » Backup » Backup Restoration

I have the following selected

Additional Options
Restore Subdomains
Restore Mail Configuration
Restore MySQL
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,202
363
This behavior is by design. I see this same behavior when restoring an account with the legacy backup system when the account still exists. You will need to terminate the account before restoring the backup if you prefer to restore to the exact state the account was in at the time of the backup generation. You are welcome to submit a feature request for changes to the restore feature at:

Submit A Feature Request

Thank you.
 

vlee

Well-Known Member
Oct 13, 2005
374
26
178
Spokane, Washington
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Thank you I will submit something today some time today for a feature to restore account in the last exact state without removing the account in the new backup system.

This new backup system takes a lot less time to backup and I like that compare to take 5 to 10 hours to backup.
 

vlee

Well-Known Member
Oct 13, 2005
374
26
178
Spokane, Washington
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
This behavior is by design. I see this same behavior when restoring an account with the legacy backup system when the account still exists. You will need to terminate the account before restoring the backup if you prefer to restore to the exact state the account was in at the time of the backup generation. You are welcome to submit a feature request for changes to the restore feature at:

Submit A Feature Request

Thank you.
I submitted a feature request for all those who want to know.

A feature to be added to the new backup system | cPanel Feature Requests