The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New backup system on 11.38 corrupt files

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Gareth-AWD, May 9, 2013.

  1. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I ran a backup manually yesterday and noticed the generated .gz file was half the size of the legacy backups so I downloaded it and according to both my compression software the files are corrupt.

    Last nights backup was also a different size again to the backup I ran manually.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. ThinIce

    ThinIce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Disillusioned in England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does the backup log contain any useful information or does everything there appear okay?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    One. Please open a ticket about this and get cPanel Technical Support in there for a closer look.

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    https://support.cpanel.net

    As Infopro encouraged, please open a support ticket on this matter. We'd like to get to the bottom of it, and resolve any issues, post haste.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I will do Monday, I'm away at the moment and I've switched back to legacy backups. I have 5 cpanel servers so am keen to get the new backup system working on all, but this one server is on the current tier where as the others are on RELEASE.

    This particular server only has 5 accounts. I'm not sure if its the pigz enabling that does it but will also run a test enabled and disabled with the new system.

    One final question, my FTP location doesn't seem to have the config backup only the accounts backup, I thought that was FTP'd.
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for your interest and input on the new backup system. We await your support ticket so we can get to the source of the matter you are experiencing.

    Due to the sensitivity of the files included in the System Backup, an extra step is required to include those when copying to a remote destination. Please see System Backups for information on including these files.
     
  7. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ticket now submitted. Out of interest, has the support staff been briefed on the net system or does it go to a higher level because of the nature of it?
     
  8. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For anyone following this. It appears from the ticket that there is a problem with FTP transfer process rather than the backup file locally.
     
    #8 Gareth-AWD, May 14, 2013
    Last edited: May 14, 2013
  9. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Confirmed by cPanel support that this is a bug and has now gone over to the development team and a case created. Outstanding support from all the people who dealt with my ticket. Thank you.
     
  10. sp3ctre69

    sp3ctre69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yeah, nasty bug, especially as it results in a "backup successful" message. Hopefully it'll get sorted soon :)
     
  11. sp3ctre69

    sp3ctre69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Not to seem too alarmist, would it be a good idea for cpanel to send out an email to those on >=Current tiers to not use the new backup system with FTP, as unless you happened to check you may not even realise the backups are not complete? I realise it's unlikely to get fixed in 24 hours, so I guess the advice to those FTP users should really be to go back to the legacy system.
     
  12. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Even though CURRENT is isn't probably recommended for some people, I think if it can't be fixed in the next 24 hours from now then a notification does need to go out. Can you imagine if you need to recover a site to discover the only backup you have is incomplete!
     
  13. sp3ctre69

    sp3ctre69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It'll be interesting to hear where they are with it today. Apparently there are several developers working on it. I agree though, it makes no difference what tier it's on, but if there is knowledge that something definitely does not work it needs to be communicated.
     
  14. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I know it's being worked on but good that its a number of developers. I guess this is pretty important to get right. Gotta hand it to them for jumping on it.
     
  15. sp3ctre69

    sp3ctre69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Has anyone heard anything more from WHM, it's all gone quiet?! I have already had to tell some folks I know who are on 11.38 not to trust the new backup system (they had no idea until they checked their backup sizes and were quite shocked!). Bit shocking that it should be my job to do that! This either needs fixing or an announcement going out, keeping quiet while it is broken isn't professional at all and somewhat damages my trust in WHM.
     
  16. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I replied to my ticket today but no response asking. I think the ticket is in the hands of the developers so I'm not fretting getting a reply.

    The old backup system still works well but see where you're coming from where people need to know not to use it.

    I'm also not sure it affects everyone, it might be certain settings or configurations. How big are your backups that are failing as all mine under 2Gb are fine, just my 6Gb site that comes out as 3Gb on FTP. To be honest, I only noticed because I have such an interested in the new system I was comparing pigz speed compared to the old backups.
     
  17. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, Gareth,

    Thank you for opening the support ticket with us. The problem appears to stem from a time-out being encountered by the sub-system that handles copying the packages to the remote destination. When the time out occurred, it encountered some unhandled error conditions, which resulted in the corrupt files you saw.

    I see the case number was changed to 67985, and the problem should be fixed in 11.38.0.8+.
     
  18. kisonay

    kisonay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am also experiencing this (it typically only happens with larger backup archives) and appreciate the staff looking into it.

    do we have an ETA on 11.38.0.8+.
     
  19. Gareth-AWD

    Gareth-AWD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Kenneth,

    Thank you for the update. I was given two case numbers in my ticket 67985 and 68049. Out of interest, what's the difference? Are they both responsible for the corrupt backups?
     
  20. sp3ctre69

    sp3ctre69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    Also interested to know when we can expect 11.38.0.8 :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page