The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New backup system problems

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by fate12, Nov 10, 2013.

  1. fate12

    fate12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I see a lot of problems here with the new backups.

    I've had problems with the backup disabling remote locations out of itself.
    Only performing backups of half the accounts.
    Not sending all the accounts to remote location.

    Now I see in ll my logs:
    [backup] System backups will not be uploaded to any remote destinations

    :mad:
    I read the documentation but fail to find how I can bring the backup to send the systembackups to a remote location (which seems a quite obvious demand).
    Can anyone inform me how to do this? Must be my bad english...

    Also, can anyone tell me why I shouldn't disable the new backups today and go back to the legacy backups?
    Thanks.
     
  2. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    was legacy backup system working perfectly on your server??
     
  3. fate12

    fate12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think it was, never had to use it for recovery though...
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    There is documentation on ensuring system backups are saved to remote destinations at:

    cPanel - System Backups

    Do you notice any specific error messages in the backup logs within /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup when backups fail to generate properly?

    Thank you.
     
  5. fate12

    fate12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    The problem with the incomplete backups is already investigated by your collegues and seems solved.

    Why isn't there a checkbox in the controlpanel to check the 'send system backups remote' and do I need to edit configfiles manually?
    Btw, why would anyone NOT want to send their systembackups remote?

    Thanks!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page