The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New backup system

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by popeye, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi i have enabled the new backup system and disabled the old one and i see that i have no backups to restore because the new backup system will not use the old ones,

    what i want to know is do i need to remove the old backups files and how i manually run backups on the new system instead of waiting for it run tonight, just so i have some backups stored.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You can restore the legacy backup archives via:

    "WHM Home » Backup » Legacy Restore Backups"

    You can force a generation of backups with the new backup system via:

    Code:
    # /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup --force
    Thank you.
     
  3. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's still not clear can new backup system be configured to use the same backup folder, and do new backups over the old backups, or we should use separate backup folder for new backup system.

    We used incremental backups before. Will new backup system just continue to do incrementals on existing files or what exactly is the expected behavior here...?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Backups using the new backup system are stored in a directory named as the date of the backup generation. For example, if you configure your "Default Backup Directory" to "/backup", then the backups are stored in a directory such as:

    # /backup/2013-06-11

    With legacy backups, the backups are stored in the same locations as before. EX:

    # /backup/cpbackup/daily

    Thus, you can use the same backup location and new backups will not overwrite the existing backups if you keep both the new backup system and legacy backup system enabled. Incremental backups using the new system would start with a fresh copy of all files, and then proceed with file changes/additions like the legacy backup system uses.

    Thank you.
     
  5. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, thank you for explanation...

    I tried new backup now, and it completed succesfully, but I don't see an option to download latest system backup from client side (cPanel). What happend with this? Is this a bug, or that is intended to work that way on new backup system?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't recall that being a feature of the Legacy backup system. Backups were only available in the cPanel interface when they were uploaded manually to the account or generated through cPanel.

    Thank you.
     
  7. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Of course it was. It's even still in latest documentation for cPanel version 11.38...

    Backups
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, system backups should in-fact be available in the cPanel UI and I have been able to reproduce this same behavior you reported on a test machine. Could you open a bug report for this so we can investigate and address this issue?

    Submit A Bug Report

    Please post the ticket number here so we can keep this thread updated with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  9. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't think it should be the same as on the old system, because new system can not fit into old daily, weekly, monthly backup buttons, so there should be some completely new client interface for new backup system with available dates to pick, so I actually think this is not even intended to be there with new backup system, and documentation is just not correctly updated.

    I hope I am wrong... :)
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I opened a case with our development team regarding the availability of "System Backups" in the cPanel UI under the new backup system. For reference, the case number is 70169. I will provide more information as it becomes available.

    Thank you.
     
  11. zontrakulla

    zontrakulla Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is kind of a different question, but, why cpanel has both old one and the new one at the same time? That confuses people.
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There's going to be a transition period I would think. You don't have to switch at this time. I'm not sure it confuses System Administrators hoping to make use of this new system though, why would it? The new one is better.
     
  13. skyknight

    skyknight Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    how to enable or disable all account on Legacy and Backups System (Backup User Selection)?
    I don't want to tick all of them :(
     
  14. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That's a good question. I didn't found that option... Really weird...
     
  15. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    All accounts are enabled by default when added to a system with backups enabled. If you don't want any accounts backed up, disable backups. All on by default, or all off with backups disabled. That's not to say there shouldn't be a way to enable or disable all, at one time, in those rare instances when you might need to for some reason, of course.
     
  16. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you enable new backup system on existing server with active users and legacy backup and go to "Backup User Selection", all users have only legacy ON and backup column OFF for all users. There is no way to enable it for all existing users.
     
  17. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    My apologies. There is a case open about this, and there is also documentation that should be helpful in the meantime until something is done with this.

    Backup Skip Users All — backup_skip_users_all - cPanel Documentation

    In my browser using these URLs I was able to disable and enable all accounts.
    Code:
    [WHM:port]/[cpsession]/json-api/backup_skip_users_all?api.version=1&state=disable&backupversion=legacy_backup
    [WHM:port]/[cpsession]/json-api/backup_skip_users_all?api.version=1&state=enable&backupversion=backup
    HTH!
     
  18. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you. I don't think we will use it for now. It's not finished yet...

    Client side system backup download option must be added for new backup system. I hope we will soon get some new info about case 70169.
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I received information on case 70169 that it's the intended behavior in cPanel 11.38 that system backups are not available in the cPanel UI when using the new backup system. There are plans to include this feature in cPanel 11.40, but in the meantime, the use of the legacy backup system is required if you want system backups available in the cPanel UI.

    Thank you.
     
  20. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for this info.

    Unfortunately I have to say that backup system is not really improved here. Only UI is much nicer, but under it it's not much different. Incremental backup should be improved, and instead it's even worse now, and simple option for client to download system backup is somehow forgotten... It's a great backup system for server with few accounts on it, but this backup system is not really usable for shared hosting. It's still the same old primitive backup system, and now it has the new nicer UI on top.
     
Loading...

Share This Page