The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Cpanel Stable Release and Cron Problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by buckshot101, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. buckshot101

    buckshot101 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After the latest Cpanel Stable Release Build was updated a couple days ago, my cron jobs on backups of FTPing some sites have stopped working.

    I have double checked the themes and everything is still in place. Coding still same on the sites with this below script, cron job settings for backup is still the same, and etc..

    Only thing to change was the new Cpanel Stable Release Build. Been using this backup for some time now, and after the new Cpanel Stable Release Build - POOF - it stopped working.

    Any Ideas?

    Latest Cpanel Build - 11.25.0-STABLE 43473

    Cron tab:

    Code:
    /usr/local/bin/php /home/XXXXX/fullbackup.php
    XXXXX is name of cpanel account.


    Code:
    <?php
    
    // PHP script to allow periodic cPanel backups automatically, optionally to a remote FTP server.
    // This script contains passwords.  KEEP ACCESS TO THIS FILE SECURE! (place it in your home dir, not /www/)
    
    // ********* THE FOLLOWING ITEMS NEED TO BE CONFIGURED *********
    
    // Info required for cPanel access
    $cpuser = "username"; // Username used to login to CPanel
    $cppass = "password"; // Password used to login to CPanel
    $domain = "example.com"; // Domain name where CPanel is run
    $skin = "x"; // Set to cPanel skin you use (script won't work if it doesn't match). Most people run the default x theme
    
    // Info required for FTP host
    $ftpuser = "ftpusername"; // Username for FTP account
    $ftppass = "ftppassword"; // Password for FTP account
    $ftphost = "ftp.example.com"; // Full hostname or IP address for FTP host
    $ftpmode = "ftp"; // FTP mode ("ftp" for active, "passiveftp" for passive)
    
    // Notification information
    $notifyemail = "email@email.com"; // Email address to send results
    
    // Secure or non-secure mode
    $secure = 0; // Set to 1 for SSL (requires SSL support), otherwise will use standard HTTP
    
    // Set to 1 to have web page result appear in your cron log
    $debug = 0;
    
    // *********** NO CONFIGURATION ITEMS BELOW THIS LINE *********
    
    if ($secure) {
       $url = "ssl://".$domain;
       $port = 2083;
    } else {
       $url = $domain;
       $port = 2082;
    }
    
    $socket = fsockopen($url,$port);
    if (!$socket) { echo "Failed to open socket connection… Bailing out!\n"; exit; }
    
    // Encode authentication string
    $authstr = $cpuser.":".$cppass;
    $pass = base64_encode($authstr);
    
    $params = "dest=$ftpmode&email=$notifyemail&server=$ftphost&user=$ftpuser&pass=$ftppass&submit=Generate Backup";
    
    // Make POST to cPanel
    fputs($socket,"POST /frontend/".$skin."/backup/dofullbackup.html?".$params." HTTP/1.0\r\n");
    fputs($socket,"Host: $domain\r\n");
    fputs($socket,"Authorization: Basic $pass\r\n");
    fputs($socket,"Connection: Close\r\n");
    fputs($socket,"\r\n");
    
    // Grab response even if we don't do anything with it.
    while (!feof($socket)) {
      $response = fgets($socket,4096);
      if ($debug) echo $response;
    }
    
    fclose($socket);
    
    ?>
    
     
    #1 buckshot101, Feb 21, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Just a guess, but looking at your script it says this:

    Most people run the X3 theme now days. X is no longer supported. Switch to X3 and see if that changes anything for you.
     
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You should probably switch to using the xml-api

    CallingAPIFunctions < AllDocumentation/AutomationIntegration < TWiki

    You can call the Api1 Function : fullbackup
    It takes arguments in this order:


    $dest (homedir, ftp, scp or passiveftp)
    $server (remote server)
    $user (remote server username)
    $pass (remote server password)
    $email (email to send report to)
    $port (remote server protocol)
    $rdir (remote server directory)
     
  4. buckshot101

    buckshot101 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    LOL, I do not like X3 -- have never liked it......that is why I use X.

    Apparently, I wasn't the only one who has this issue after Cpanel Build 11.25.0.


    Here is the changes that makes it work with this build:

    Code:
    <?php
    
    // PHP script to allow periodic cPanel backups automatically, optionally to a remote FTP server.
    // This script contains passwords. KEEP ACCESS TO THIS FILE SECURE! (place it in your home dir, not /www/)
    
    // ********* THE FOLLOWING ITEMS NEED TO BE CONFIGURED *********
    
    // Info required for cPanel access
    $cpuser = "name"; // Username used to login to CPanel
    $cppass = "pass"; // Password used to login to CPanel
    $domain = "site"; // Domain name where CPanel is run
    $skin = "x"; // Set to cPanel skin you use (script won't work if it doesn't match). Most people run the default x theme
    
    // Info required for FTP host
    $ftpuser = "name"; // Username for FTP account
    $ftppass = "pass"; // Password for FTP account
    $ftphost = "ftp.site.com"; // Full hostname or IP address for FTP host
    $ftpmode = "ftp"; // FTP mode ("ftp" for active, "passiveftp" for passive)
    $ftpport = "21"; // Port (default = 21)
    $rdir = "/"; // Remote dir (defaut = / )
    
    // Notification information
    $notifyemail = "email@email.com"; // Email address to send results
    
    
    // Secure or non-secure mode
    $secure = 0; // Set to 1 for SSL (requires SSL support), otherwise will use standard HTTP
    
    // Set to 1 to have web page result appear in your cron log
    $debug = 0;
    
    // *********** NO CONFIGURATION ITEMS BELOW THIS LINE *********
    
    if ($secure) {
    $url = "ssl://".$domain;
    $port = 2083;
    } else {
    $url = $domain;
    $port = 2082;
    }
    
    $socket = fsockopen($url,$port);
    if (!$socket) { echo "Failed to open socket connection… Bailing out!\n"; exit; }
    
    // Encode authentication string
    $authstr = $cpuser.":".$cppass;
    $pass = base64_encode($authstr);
    
    $params = "dest=$ftpmode&email=$notifyemail&server=$ftphost&user=$ftpuser&pass=$ftppass&port=$ftpport&rdir=$rdir&submit=Generate Backup";
    
    // Make POST to cPanel
    fputs($socket,"POST /frontend/".$skin."/backup/dofullbackup.html?".$params." HTTP/1.0\r\n");
    fputs($socket,"Host: $domain\r\n");
    fputs($socket,"Authorization: Basic $pass\r\n");
    fputs($socket,"Connection: Close\r\n");
    fputs($socket,"\r\n");
    
    // Grab response even if we don't do anything with it.
    while (!feof($socket)) {
    $response = fgets($socket,4096);
    if ($debug) echo $response;
    }
    
    fclose($socket);
    
    
    ?>
    
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The X3 theme has a style called X that is supported.
     
  6. buckshot101

    buckshot101 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am aware of the different themes...but like I mentioned earlier, I do not like X3. You can change the theme (appearance), but it's still X3 -- even if you use the X theme in X3.
     
Loading...

Share This Page