The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New cPanel/WHM install, Nameservers won't resolve

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by hedwig, May 7, 2014.

  1. hedwig

    hedwig Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I've spent the last two weeks reading several threads in this community and elsewhere on the web on this issue but now I'm on the verge of losing all my senses. The problem is: out of the two name servers that I initially set up during the initial WHM/cPanel setup wizard, one of them was configured at a different server. I should have entered ns5.somedomain.com and ns6.somedomain.com but instead of doing that, I entered ns4.somedomain.com and ns5.somedomain.com.

    When I realised none of the domains were resolving to the server, I started looking into it and realised my fault. I immediately changed the nameservers in the "Basic cPanel & WHM Setup" page as follows:

    ns4.somedomain.com --> ns5.somedomain.com
    ns5.somedomain.com --> ns6.somedomain.com

    I waited two days and still nothing seemed to happen. Then I realised I needed to edit the DNS zones manually to reflect the nameserver changes. I edited all the DNS zones and again waited 2 days but nothing happened. I thought something was wrong with ResellerClub domain's child name servers so I registered a completely new domain @Godaddy.com and followed all standard procedures to create host names (NS1, NS2), pointed them to the server's IP address (I had only one IP before writing this post, just got another one for the server), still nothing seemed to happen. I also set A records with GoDaddy for both the nameservers to point to the server's IP address. Still nothing happened.

    I read somewhere I should try doing "/scripts/rebuilddnsconfig" but that didn't help either. I also used the "updatenameserverips" from the command line but instead of doing any good, it emptied the "/etc/nameserverips" file. :confused:

    This server is located at Hetzner.de and I've properly checked that the resolver IP addresses are correct. Kindly help soon because after all this, I'm completely frustrated and sad that I wasted $300 on server and software licenses and can't get a single thing to work. I also tried doing nslookup and it fails miserably for both ns1.domainname.com and ns2.domainname.com and gives me a SERVFAIL error in return. I tried doing it from both my local computer and from the server's console but the same error in both the places. The server is running CentOS 6.5 and CloudLinux.

    Please help! :(
     
  2. hedwig

    hedwig Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh, it seems I can't edit the post here. (I remain with only one IP address that came with the server. I thought the Hetzner email notification was about issuance of a new IP but instead, they sent a RIPE link saying Nameservers isn't a valid reason to get another IP for the same server.)

    Is there anyway to restart the initial cPanel configuration wizard so I could wipe out all the existing cPanel configurations and reconfigure everything from scratch?

    Thanks!
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I suggest using a website such as IntoDNS and looking to see where the problems are with your name servers. Do the parent name servers show the correct IP addresses?

    Thank you.
     
  4. hedwig

    hedwig Registered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dear Michael,

    Thanks for your reply on this! I had already checked intoDNS before creating the thread here and it was showing too many issues yesterday (nameservers not responding, even though it was showing correct IPs for the name servers at the top) and then there were tons of other nameservers related issues.

    I'd have probably lost all my remaining sense yesterday itself trying to figure out what was causing the problem if Balaji S from BuycPanel wouldn't have looked into this problem. It turned out /etc/named.conf had wrong permissions which was causing all the problems (as he said). Before him, one other person tried several times (cPanel certified!) but couldn't figure out the issue.

    Although the problem is resolved now, could you please tell me what might have caused that wrong permission to occur on /etc/named.conf on a fresh cPanel install?

    Thanks!
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am happy to see you were able to resolve the issue. Note that for others viewing this thread, you can generate the file with correct permissions via:

    Code:
    mv /etc/named.conf /etc/named.conf.backup
    /scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    I have not seen any other reports of invalid permissions on the /etc/named.conf file on a new installation of cPanel, and I could not reproduce the issue. Was the server initially provisioned by your provider, or did you install the OS/cPanel on your own? If your provider provisioned the server, please consider reporting this to them.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page