The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New DNSonly servers - problem with empty zones

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Wabun, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have created 2 new DNSonly servers, but when updating my rDNS zone file it is not pushed to these 2 new DNSonly servers. It comes with the error messages

    BIND 9 is maintained by Internet Systems Consortium,: 2 Time(s)
    Inc. (ISC), a non-profit 501(c)(3) public-benefit : 2 Time(s)
    Warning: view internal: 'empty-zones-enable/disable-empty-zone' not set: disabling RFC 1918 empty zones: 1 Time(s)
    Warning: view localhost_resolver: 'empty-zones-enable/disable-empty-zone' not set: disabling RFC 1918 empty zones: 1 Time(s)
    available at https://www.isc.org/support: 2 Time(s)

    Any 'normal' zone is updated to the new dnsonly servers except the empty zones, I can't work out how to solve this, any one had this problem before and knows how to fix this?

    Tried this:

    vi /etc/named.conf

    Under the global options enter:
    options {
    empty-zones-enable yes;
    };

    service named restart

    But no result, not sure if recursion should be enabled and if so only for the local zones?

    OS is Centos 6.3 64bits
    DNSonly clean install, latest version.
     
    #1 Wabun, Dec 16, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  2. hgrg

    hgrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hy,
    I've been using dnsonly for a short while but i figured out that I get a much 'cleaner' system with this setup:
    cpanel centos 6 main server running bind
    -vps1 as slave1 running debian and using powerdns configured to use bind readable zones..
    -vps2 as slave2 running debian and using powerdns configured to use bind readable zones..
    The only thing i needed to set up was:
    creating an ACL on named.conf to allow notification and axfr to the slave(s). you only need to set the slaves to have the cpanek server as 'supermaster' ..

    and then if you hit transfer all zones in WHM all your zones are transsferred..
     
    #2 hgrg, Dec 17, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2012
  3. Wabun

    Wabun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Antwerpen
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Would love to build a better system, but don't want to run bind on the main servers.
    I like my four independent name-servers and want to keep them, but if you have any better alternative i am very interested :) Are you able to get PowerDNS working flawless with cPanel in same way with cluster? I don't want to push zones manually you see, I only did it this time once because of the new build, never any need for that, it works perfect together in cPanel server with DNSonly.
     
Loading...

Share This Page