The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new domain / access

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by carpman, Jan 27, 2002.

  1. carpman

    carpman Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello i have just set up a new domain that happens to be on the same ip as name server, i believe that it should work but error message, cpanel access by ip works ok.

    Forbidden
    You don\'t have permission to access / on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Apache/1.3.19 Server at www.domain.com Port 80


    any ideas
     
  2. Brian Farkas

    Brian Farkas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi- have you tried accessing it in the form of http://123.456.789.000/~username/
    where 123.456.789.000 is replaced by the IP address and username is replaced by the client\'s actual username?

    If you\'re setting up an account on a shared IP, that is how you will have to access them.

    Good luck,

    Brian
     
  3. kosmo

    kosmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over Europe
    Do you have a skeleton directory for this reseller? This means: does this domain has an \"index.html\" file?
     
  4. AmityHosting

    AmityHosting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi

    i have my apache set up in the same way as i dont like it indexing all the files, simply upload a index.htm, index.html, index.shtml or index.php file to the accounts public_html and it should work fine.
     
  5. raylin

    raylin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there any way to prevent directory listing by modifying http.conf ?
     
  6. jumpdomain

    jumpdomain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Edit the httpd.conf file and remove this in the options:
    Indexes

    Then restart Apache
     
  7. gidechoi

    gidechoi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Not work!

    I removes Indexes.
    But same situation!
     
  8. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try -Indexes instead of removing it altogether.
     
Loading...

Share This Page