The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by k8jsl, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. k8jsl

    k8jsl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Naybody got any ideas as to why all of a sudden WHM (for that matter the entire site) can no longer make ANY outgoing requests...
    No Firewall was installed,
    I wanted to see what RPMs where available, and I got a TON of connection errors

    Anybody got an idea as where I sould begin looking to fix ???
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Sounds like apache may be down, or maybe even the whole server. Can you still connect with FTP? Mail still working? Shell access?

    If it's only apache, try this in shell.
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart

    If the whole thing is down, you'll have to contact the datacenter unless you have remote reboot access.
     
  3. k8jsl

    k8jsl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes... FTP Mail and SSH are still working....

    I'll restart Apache and see what happens
     
  4. k8jsl

    k8jsl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope that didnt doit....

    Code:
    [a fatal error or timeout occurred while processing this directive]Unable to fetch Web Host Manager Security News. The News server may be down or unreachable.
    Is what is appearing in the area of WHM that the news should be

    I do have remote reboot.... Maybe the next thing
     
  5. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Shouldn't need a reboot if the other services are working, but you can always try it. It sounds more like it may be just a temporary problem.
     
  6. k8jsl

    k8jsl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  7. Mini

    Mini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Probably your local DNS resolvers aren't set or aren't working.

    Mini
     
  8. k8jsl

    k8jsl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  9. k8jsl

    k8jsl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello...........
    Anybody got any suggestions
     
  10. k8jsl

    k8jsl Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is a MAJOR PROBLEM anybody got any idea's what, where, adn how to change it
     
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    If it's a urgent problem, then posting here is probably not the best idea. You should probably either hire a server admin to help you out or ask for help from your datacenter if you rent the server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page