The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New ethernet port naming conventions not recognized? p3p1

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by santrix, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. santrix

    santrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi,

    New server with Centos 6.3 -

    Home » Server Configuration » Basic cPanel & WHM Setup

    The ethernet device onto which new IP addresses are added... etc... reports "The current value for this field is invalid. You must update it."

    The field value is p3p1, which is correct, as far as I know from ifconfig.
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you try to click "Save Changes"?
     
  3. santrix

    santrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The dropdown only shows p3p1, and the "other" box won't accept p3p1... p3p1 is correct, the problem is that cpanel won't accept it.
     
  4. hgrg

    hgrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    santrix:
    could you copy a [redacted]
    ip addr show
    result?
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Right now cPanel & WHM only works with a limited naming convention for ethernet ports. If your ethernet adaptor name isn't like "eth#" then it won't be recognized.
     
  6. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My device is em1 . Seems to be working fine. This device shows up in the pull-down menu in Basic cPanel and WHM Setup.

    M
     
Loading...

Share This Page