Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

New horde skin/theme deleted each upgrade

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pcsousa, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. pcsousa

    pcsousa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi.

    I'm trying to add a new horde skin to my cpanel customers but ewach time cpanel make an upgrade, skin files are deleted by the system.

    There is any idea how to solve this issue?

    Regards.
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,561
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    /usr/local/cpanel/src/3rdparty/gpl/README-horde
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,160
    Likes Received:
    370
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Thanks for posting this thread. :p

    After reading it I decided to go look around for some themes (just for fun) and came across this icon set. http://freshmeat.net/projects/horde-iconset
    So I loaded them up to replace the old themes/graphics/ directory (images and directories in here are dated 12 sept 06) and did a forced cp upgrade. The graphics set still works and looks great. On all themes. :)

    Now they may get overwritten at some point, but they didn't today and thats all that matters.

    Not to bother with an enhancement request here, but they would be nice to have as new defaults to go with x3's new look., IMHO. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,561
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    He needs a better screen shot.

    The crystal theme icon set is quite nice. As for the customization, pleasae don't hold your breath ;) We still need to do full integration before making it pretty :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. pcsousa

    pcsousa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Thank you for the tip cpanelkenneth.
    I'll round that as soons I have some time.

    Regards.
     
  6. pcsousa

    pcsousa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hello again.

    Well I'm trying to add an personal overlay where I will include my custom skins. So I've created a tar.gz with all directories needed (/var/cpanel/horde/overlay.tar.gz) acording to README-horde instructions (unpacking to ./horde/).

    When I execute /usr/local/cpanel/bin/update-horde --force the skins are not installed so I had analized update-horde script and found this:

    PHP:
    (...)

    has_overlay=0
    overlay_message
    =""
    overlay=""

    (...)

    if [ -
    "/var/cpanel/horde/overlay.tar.gz" ]; then
            has_overlay
    =1
        overlay_message
    ="Including local Horde modifications"
            
    taropts="zxvf"
        
    overlay="/var/cpanel/horde/overlay.tar.gz"
    fi

    (...)

    if [ 
    "$overlay"1" ]; then
            
    echo $overlay_message
            tar $taropts $overlay 
    -/usr/local/cpanel/base
    fi

    (..)
    Because

    PHP:
    root@mondego [/var/cpanel/horde]# ls -la /var/cpanel/horde/overlay.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r--    1 root     root       814936 Nov 20 11:34 /var/cpanel/horde/overlay.tar.gz
    root
    @mondego [/var/cpanel/horde]#
    exists

    PHP:
    if [ "$overlay"1" ]; then
            
    echo $overlay_message
            tar $taropts $overlay 
    -/usr/local/cpanel/base
    fi
    should be executed, but is not beeing executed and I think is because you are using var $has_overlay to define if file overlay.tar.gz exists or not and $overlay to trigger tar $taropts $overlay -C /usr/local/cpanel/base. In other words, $overlay will never be 1, so the overlay will never be executed.
    If I execute tar zxvf /var/cpanel/horde/overlay.tar.gz -C /usr/local/cpanel/base manually skin is installed correctlty.

    Am I wrong on this diagnostic?
    It is safe to change the script?

    Regards.
     
  7. pcsousa

    pcsousa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Weel, I've changed /usr/local/cpanel/bin/update-horde:

    PHP:
    if [ "$overlay"1" ]; then
            
    echo $overlay_message
            tar $taropts $overlay 
    -/usr/local/cpanel/base
    fi
    with

    PHP:
    if [ "$has_overlay"1" ]; then
            
    echo $overlay_message
            tar $taropts $overlay 
    -/usr/local/cpanel/base
    fi
    and works ok :>

    It seems a little bug ;)

    Regards.
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,561
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nice catch. Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice