Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

new idiot to cpanel / use with Golive ftp? [moved]

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by osok1, Nov 18, 2005.

  1. osok1

    osok1 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    new idiot to cpanel / use with Golive ftp?

    Hi,

    Have several clients and myself that need to upload with Golive. I cannot get the bugger to connect to the ftp and have tried several different configs.
    Error is/ cannot connect to server. Cannot connect to ftp. (601)
    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Matt
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    tried servral different configs it not much to go by
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    OSOK1,

    Can you provide more details? In not being able to connect to your server via FTP is most likely a configuration within WHM or cPanel.

    Perhaps you have the wrong configuration? Have the websites resovled to your new IP for the cpanel Server?

    JM2C

    CJ
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. fikse

    fikse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    can you connect with a regular FTP client? are you using sftp?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    So Sorry For The Group - but their right

    Good Day- So Sorry the group is saying "Tell me More..." but we need more information to be able to help you.

    A few questions.

    1. Have you implemented a Firewall ? if so do you have port 21 open.

    2. In WHM follow the link for Server Status then click on Server Status again - is FTP running?

    3. User/Password - what user/password are you using (dont reply to the group w/ that btw)

    double check the user/pass depending upon your configuration you may need to ut it in as user@domain.com or as user --> this makes a huge difference.

    Hope that information helps -->

    if you could copy the error log perhaps and paste back here that would help.

    Kind Regards :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice