Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

New Install Security Questions Issue

Discussion in 'Security' started by durangod, Aug 28, 2018.

  1. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi, i just set up some of the cPanel WHM install and needed to take a break.

    When i went back to log into root, it takes me to a page that says i have not yet set up security questions and tells me that i can choose existing questions or input my own.

    First there is no dropdown at all when i press the down arrow, so there are no existing questions. I tried both on FF and on Chrome. Then even if i enter my own question and answers and click continue, it logs me off and when i go to log in again im right back at the same questions screen..

    Whats going on ? Did i miss something ?

    Thanks

    UPDATE: I guess i could just disable them via ssh here
    Configure Security Policies - Version 68 Documentation - cPanel Documentation
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 durangod, Aug 28, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2018
  2. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    well that didnt work... now when i log in i get the menu with no styling theme at all (see pic) and whenever i click on anything at all it logs me off.

    notheme.jpg
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    OK nevermind i need to look at my old threads first... i found it

    SOLVED - No theme for WHM showing

    ill check the old stuff in case i run into the same issues again...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    well thats not it yet, seems it works http but not https, so maybe when i get the site moved over officially it will be https then... but im thinking it should already be https even with just the hostname and whm pointed to the server from cloudflare.

    so whm access via ip works http but not https

    and whm access via hostname works https but whm bombs with no template and then craps out after login...

    maybe the ip is not resolving to the hostname


    Your connection to this site is not secure

    but then im back to it failing with no template as in the image.

    OK i think this is the fix... we will see

    nope still the same hostname shows hostname and

    Can't Access My Hostname

    nope still the same

    hostname shows the hostname
    dig shows my ip address

    so what i did was since i use cloudflare for my dns i disabled dns on the server.

    so now what ill try is changing the pointer in cloudflare for my root domain xxxxx.com to point to the shared ip on the server and see if thats the problem is that i have hostname and whm pointing to the server ip but not the base domain.

    same freaken problem... GRRRRRRRRRRRR

    so everything is pointing now to the server and still same problem...

    and so i logged into cpanel to check it and same thing it loads, no template, then crashes when you select something.


    cpanelnotheme.jpg


    Why dont you all have some kind of help message, error, on the screen if it cant load the freaken template.

    At least give us stupid people a clue as to what it might be, error or something!! geeeesssss

    so now im lost i dont know what to do next ! and here i sit with my head in my lap..

    ok lets try this
    My cPanel won't load or keeps logging me out after enabling Cloudflare

    from this article i love this line :)

    LMAO its like saying go ahead cross the river i promise the bridge is fixed, but just in case it breaks while your on it, here is a rope LMAO
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #4 durangod, Aug 29, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2018
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,237
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @durangod

    I've always thought that was pretty funny too, it is still definitely an issue when CloudFlare is enabled. Are you still experiencing an issue or did this article resolve it for you?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hi, good morning.... :) yes i am still having the issue. I have discovered that my main domain is still pointing at the server rather than at cloudflare. It was pointing at cloudflare early yesterday so not sure what happened.

    Anyway so that domain is on a dedicated ip, i cant change the ip of the domain in whm because it wont let me modify the site ip to the cloudflare ip.

    Can i use the add ip in whm to add a cloudflare ip so i can assign it to the site? Its not going to mess with CF is it, i mean adding their ip to my server just so i can have it on the list?

    I tried to add an A record via cpanel but it told me that the feature needed to be added and i dont know where that is in WHM.

    I keep thinking that if i am going to use cloudflare then i dont need DNS on the server and i can disable it, is that correct?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 durangod, Aug 29, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2018
  7. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,237
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @durangod


    While you could potentially add the CloudFlare IP to the server there really isn't a point in doing this. I'm not sure I understand where you're encountering the issue - if you're pointing your nameservers to Cloudflare then in CloudFlare it's showing your DNS zones properly you should technically have configured CloudFlare properly.

    Once CloudFlare is set up you're technically not even hosting DNS on the server (but keep in mind it pulls your records from the server initially) so you could disable the nameserver if you wish.
    If you're experiencing an issue with the format of the cPanel/WHM like the UI is not completely loading still you will need to access using a method that is not proxied through CloudFlare such as the IP address. The only other option would be to stop proxying the hostname, meaning ensure that the hostname of the server has a grey cloud rather than an orange one. That way you could access cPanel/WHM through the hostname of the server.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hi issue is not resolve but i did get ssl up and running for everything else and my free cert from cloudflare installed on both whm and cpanel. However ssl still does not work for cpanel and whm but works great for the websites. I understand they are different monsters. It does show the right cert from CF in both places.

    So i went to the redirection tab in tweek settings to redirect to ssl and its all greyed out, i cant change it. Oh and i tried to run autossl and it just ran forever and did nothing so i just killed the job.

    I guess i missed doing something somewhere huh :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,237
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @durangod

    To clarify
    Are you using the certificate provided by CloudFlare? Are you aware if it covers whm. or cpanel. subdomains as part of the SAN's?

    That's the only reason I can think that redirect to SSL would be greyed out unless you have the setting as follows enabled:

    Choose the closest matched domain for which that the system has a valid certificate when redirecting from non-SSL to SSL URLs. Formerly known as “Always redirect to SSL/TLS”


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    certcloud.jpg redirect.jpg hi, yes it covers *.site.com and site.com see images
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #10 durangod, Sep 4, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2018
  11. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,237
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @durangod

    If the CloudFlare certificate isn't covering the sites you need to address that with them. The certificate isn't actually installed on the server in the case of this - it's installed through their cached copy.

    For the image of tweak settings - as I mentioned before the only reason those options would be greyed out is if you had "Choose the closest matched domain for which that the system has a valid certificate when redirecting from non-SSL to SSL URLs. Formerly known as “Always redirect to SSL/TLS” " enabled which you do according to the screenshot
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    oh so just turn it off and the other ones light up... lol ok

    here is what it said when i saved it... i set it to hostname and then i tried doman and still the same invalid message.



     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #12 durangod, Sep 4, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2018
  13. durangod

    durangod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I just wanted to update this to be more clear on the solution when this happens. It means you need to use
    literally:

    whm.example.com:port or cpanel.example.com:port

    until everything propagates and you have all your certs in place and
    hostname set up. Then in a day or so it will all mesh and work using your hostname.example.com:port

    so if your template is not loading and as soon as you click on something it logs you off, then this is the solution. I just went through this again and im glad i found my old post here. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPanelLauren likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice