The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new member need a help[moved]

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by amersa, Oct 15, 2006.

  1. amersa

    amersa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello

    i was gen a VPS Server but i don't any idea about it, how add new reseller , database. i feel new for WHM.

    I have a small hosting in other server using CPanel and want to take a backup then restore it in my new (VPS) but i don't know where is the start. i get the VPS from the compayn what is the steps do it to before restore my old backup.

    waiting replies soon


    bye
     
  2. amersa

    amersa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello agian

    i did smothing good befor a few minutes.

    First Creat new package
    Second Creat New acount
    third go to Network Setup > Nameserver IPs > then add the two dns to server ips

    Is it that right?

    What's the next? and help me how know if PHP in my server or no.



    thanks very mutch
     
  3. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.

    If your VPS is configured and tuned up, then copy your backups in /home and restore them using the WHM option called "Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file".

    Anyway, you can move all your accounts from the old server using "Copy an account from another server". I guess the old servers works under cPanel too.
     
  4. amersa

    amersa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i tried to copy the accounts but the proccess failed.

    then i go to my old server and take a backup by these steps

    CPanel > Backups > Generate/Download a Full Backup

    then i select my new server after the process done i go to my new server and found
    backup. how restore it.

    i tried to restore it manual by download in my computer then upload it again.

    the big problem that what will expriced in my another website because it's very big
    and the manual restore will be not valid.



    thanks
     
  5. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Copy the backup in root of /home or /usr/home and restore the backups using the option "Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file". Show me what error message you get if the restoration is failed.
     
  6. amersa

    amersa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks


    sorry where can i fine a home directory and how can i creat an ftp user for root because i don;t have user.
     
  7. krava

    krava Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Create any account on your VPS and upload the backup files into it via FTP, then log in to your VPS via SSH as root and do following:

    #cd /home/$USERNAME
    #ls -l

    there you will find your backup files.

    copy them in root of /home using the command:
    #cp backup_file_name ../

    Then you can restore the accounts via WHM "Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file".

    please contact the company which sold the VPS for you if your don't know how to log in to your VPS as root via SSH. They will provide with with details.

    Also, $USERNAME must be replaced with the account's username in the command:
    cd /home/$USERNAME
     
Loading...

Share This Page