The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New module for php (interbase)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by efeito, Dec 28, 2003.

  1. efeito

    efeito Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    .pt
    I there,

    i have an application made in PHP that access a remote interbase server. I need to make server available to this application. I installed the client of interbase on my server, but now i have one question. As far as i can found on web i need to recompile PHP with

    ./configure --with-interbase=/opt/interbase --with-apxs

    But my box as cpanel and i'm affraid of broking something. Can anyone give me an help?? How can i do this??

    Is there any other way to do this? please help!

    Thanks
     
  2. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    That's the way to do it, but you want to make sure that you compile it with everything else that you have it compiled with now, too. Otherwise you will not be able to use php with things like mysql, mbstring, etc.

    Use phpinfo to check what you have it compiled with right now:

    <?
    phpinfo();
    ?>
     
  3. peterr

    peterr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    When will CPanel be supporting Interbase, or more to the point, are there any plans to do this ?

    I have need of this in the short term, currently use (and like) CPanel, and from here:

    http://www.ibphoenix.com/main.nfs?a=ibphoenix&page=ibp_hosting

    there is a considerable number of companies that now offer Firebird or Interbase hosting.

    Thanks,

    Peter
     
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
  5. peterr

    peterr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    Thanks, I've just submitted one.

    Peter
     
  6. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i do believe interbase isn't free so i quite doubt it'll be supported.
     
  7. peterr

    peterr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    When people mention Interbase/Firebird, it is based on IB 6(O-E) , that is open source (free), so it is definitely free. From one of the Firebird sites:

    Interbase of version 7.n series, from Borland, are not free, but a different product.

    Both IB/FB and IB 7.n however are based off the same Interbase open source version - 6-OE

    Hope that clears it up.

    Peter
     
Loading...

Share This Page