The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new redirect/unprotected screen

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by caeos, Jun 9, 2008.

  1. caeos

    caeos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    A few of mys users have noticed a new 'unprotected' screen that then redirects to either the https cpanel or offersa choice to go to cpanel.hostname.xxx is this new/correct or should i run for the hills now..
    i cant find any documentation for this
    thanks
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you be more specific? Perhaps include a screenshot?
     
  3. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    We got a similiar thing this morning after upgrading to Current 25133, see it on both freebsd systems and our centos machines. Its a quick white screen message about "Detecting" and then the login with the url in the address window is :

    http://www.whatever.org:2082/unprotected/redirect.html

    Makes users a bit antsy. :confused:
     
  4. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Ok, something is definitly wrong here. A customer just called and said if he types in the webmail url:

    http://www.whatever.com/webmail

    he gets a :

    Detecting
    click here if you are not redirected....

    But he does NOT get redirected, it just sits there.
    If he clicks the "click here" he then gets roadrunner.com website.
    If I do it I get the webmail login fine. He is using IE and so am I.

    Something is broken with the detection or something related to the redirect.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please submit support tickets regarding this so our technical analysts can take a look at this and perhaps take corrective action:

    http://tickets.cpanel.net/submit
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This was added to send them to the proxy url if the :208x url fails because of a firewall.

    Since every browser has different security modals this can be a lot more problematic then it sounds. If you can provide the specific os/browser versions we should be able to sort it out if its not a firewall issue.
     
  7. caeos

    caeos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Please find enclosed the 2 screen shots with the redirect screen and the browser settings
    It happens with IE also .

    WHM version is
    WHM 11.23.0 cPanel 11.23.3-C25133
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.6 i686 on xen - WHM X v3.1.0

    I will enter support ticket if needed
     

    Attached Files:

  8. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Please open a ticket and pm me the #.

    Thanks
     
  9. caeos

    caeos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    done and PM with details on way
     
  10. caeos

    caeos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    the instructions sent by Russ worked to alleviate this issue, however i am not sure what other problems it may cause

     
  11. chaloupe

    chaloupe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dieppe, NB, Canada
    We also have the same issue and have enable mod_proxy and mod_rewrite.
     
  12. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Does turning off these features clear up the problem or does it leave dns entries and httpd.conf entries that have to be manually cleaned up ?
     
  13. nazmy

    nazmy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes it disables it
     
Loading...

Share This Page