The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new rndc error - remote host closed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DWHS.net, Apr 19, 2004.

  1. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    rndc: connection to remote host closed This may indicate that the remote server is using an older version of the command protocol, this host is not authorized to connect, or the key is invalid.

    Anyone else get this?
     
  2. knipper

    knipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Me too!

    I just got this error today too. This is the first account I am trying to set up on a brand new server.

    The only thing I installed was the APF firewall. At first I had a different error... I then ran /scripts/fixndc which corrected the original error, but now I get this everytime I try to restart bind.

    Any suggestions?
     
  3. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you have redhat 9?
     
  4. knipper

    knipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    my fix ...

    HHHmmmm.....

    After looking around and reading serveral posts some folks said they needed to edit named.conf and ADD the dash into

    keys { rndc-key;};

    and others had to remove it.

    I added it... and it worked. No idea why some servers need it and some don't. Potentially a host image problem I guess.
     
  5. cierrahost

    cierrahost Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried this with fedora and still getting the same problems. Anyone know how to do this with fedora?
     
  6. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: my fix ...

    That did it, I just had to remove the dash.

    Weird ..thanks for the help
     
Loading...

Share This Page