Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

New Security Advisor notifications with Medium importance

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nirjonadda, Feb 7, 2018.

  1. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am getting email about New Security Advisor notifications with Medium importance but Security Advisor are not showing this.

    Security Advisor.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. rpvw

    rpvw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Spain
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Looks like you may have installed or upgraded your clamav manually instead of using the Manage Plugins interface.

    The notification is probably from the WHM > Home > Server Contacts > Contact Manager > ClamAV Upgrade Changes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPWilliamL likes this.
  3. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This security check doesn't only look for cPanel provided clamav binaries, so as the previous commenter pointed out, it's likely hitting on clamav binaries not provided by cPanel. I have the following RPM's for clamav:
    Code:
    # rpm -qa|grep clam
    cpanel-clamav-0.99.2-2.cp1164.x86_64
    cpanel-clamav-virusdefs-0.99.2-2.cp1164.x86_64
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So how we can install clamav without Manage Plugins interface?

    Code:
    [root@na ~]# rpm -qa|grep clam
    cpanel-clamav-virusdefs-0.99.3-1.cp1170.x86_64
    cpanel-clamav-0.99.3-1.cp1170.x86_64
    [root@na ~]#
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPWilliamL

    cPWilliamL cP Technical Analyst II
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    America
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you asking how to install via command line or reporting that the WHM > Manage Plugins interface is not present? To install via command line, you may run the commands below:
    Code:
    # /scripts/update_local_rpm_versions --edit target_settings.clamav installed
    # /scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --targets clamav --fix
    
    You can also verify the package integrity as below:
    Code:
    # rpm -qa ^cpanel-clamav* -V
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice