The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New server cannot SSH to old server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ddaddy, Sep 8, 2016.

Tags:
  1. ddaddy

    ddaddy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am trying to use the Transfer Tool to move to a new server.
    Both servers are running WHM.

    I keep getting timeout errors from the Transfer Tool so I tried to manually SSH.

    I can SSH from my house to the old server without issue.
    When I try to SSH from the new server to the old, it times out.

    I have added the new servers IP address to the whitelist although there's nothing showing as blocked.

    Why would this be timing out? Could it be a setting on the new server?

    Thanks

    Edit:
    ------

    I can successfully SSH from my old server to the new server, just not the other way around.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,761
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you have any firewall rules on the destination server that could be blocking outgoing SSH connections? Do you utilize the "Host Access Control" option on the source server, and if so, have you allowed connections from the destination server IP address?

    Thank you.
     
  3. ddaddy

    ddaddy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have CSF set to Test mode so shouldn't be blocking anything, and the "Host Access Control" page is empty.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,761
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. ddaddy

    ddaddy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes disabling CSF on the new server allows the connection to go out.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,761
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm happy to see you were able to address the issue. Feel free to post on the CSF forums if you have additional questions about the testing mode functionality:

    General Discussion (csf) - ConfigServer Community Forum

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page