The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new server cPanel into a cpanel and a cpanel dns only configuration help

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Schwibby, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. Schwibby

    Schwibby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    hello

    sorry for the terrible english , please use a bit of "fancy" if is possible to understand my situation....

    i ve read the dns cluster guide.

    i have a cPanel server (web+ primary dns+mail) named dns1.hs.it and a cPanel dns only named dns2.hs.it configured in a cluster.

    now i have to add a cPanel server in my infrastructure, and i want to add into the cluster, the new cPanel have web+dns+mail such as the primary cpanel.

    now the question is about the dns function.
    i've read how to add multiple dns server to the cluster but i want that:


    the new web server cpanel use the exiting dns server dns1 and dns2 for primary and secondary zones, and when i create an account in this server , this write the zones in dns1 and dns2.

    in the future i want to add one offshore other dns3,dns4 etc, and in the future the server must write zone into 3 dns server.



    i 've read how to add a server in a cluster but i don't understand how to write zones into dns1 and dns2 and if it is possible to ensure that this new WHM become the dns3 also for the main whm.


    at the end I would like the 2 whm would write the areas of dns1 dns2 dns3 and dnsX
     
  2. Schwibby

    Schwibby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    in summary I would like the new whm uses as primary and secondary dns the 2 existing servers and that he became the dns3.
    I would therefore creating an account on him going to put the dns zones on both primary and secondary servers. (And in the case of other dns that I will install in the future)
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's generally not recommended to use a hosting server to host the DNS Zones for multiple other hosting servers. Instead, you should utilize a DNS-Only server for handling the DNS Zones of multiple servers. When you add a DNS-Only server to the cluster, and configure the DNS Role as "Synchronize Changes", the zones are automatically written to the DNS-Only server.

    Thank you.
     
  4. Schwibby

    Schwibby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    so if i want a reccomended situation:

    you suggestion to me is:

    cPanel 1 whm ->not primary dns
    cPanel 2 whm -> not secondary dns

    cPanel dns only 1 -> primary dns
    cPanel dns only 2 -> secondary dns

    in both of cPanel 1 and cPanel 2 i set the dnsonly 1 and the dnsonly 2 in cluster, in mode "syncronyze changes " and " set up a trust relationship" ?

    and into dns1only 1 and 2 the cluster mode to the two cpanel server how to set ? standalone is right?

    i have a production environment, ho to change the dns configuration without blackout for customer?

    i have already the dns2.hs.it that is a cPanel dns only valid for my customer.

    if i set up another dns only and i name it dns1.hs.it ( removing the dns1 hostname from my first cPanel and changing IP) work all?
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that is the recommended configuration.

    You can update the name server IP addresses at the domain registrar so they are the IP addresses of the DNS-Only servers. This way, your customers do not have to modify their name servers at the registrar.

    Thank you.
     
  6. Schwibby

    Schwibby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    very very very thank you ... i put at work this week end :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page