Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

New Server - Permission Issues and Missing error_log

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stapuff106, Sep 20, 2017.

  1. stapuff106

    stapuff106 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Chicago
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    New Server - Permission Issues and Missing error_log

    I switched to a new larger server and now am getting permission issues and no error_log being outputted.
    Tested 2 simple php functions that worked with no issues in the last server.
    I show below what was done to "fix" the issues, however, it is not a global fix. I will have to do this for every domain on the server.
    Are there settings I need to change that I am missing that would make the permissions issues go away globally?
    What do I need to do to produce the error_log?

    Function 1 returns this:
    Code:
    Warning: fopen(/home/username/public_html/test.png): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/username/public_html/test.php on line 13
    Warning: fputs() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /home/username/public_html/test.php on line 14
    Warning: fclose() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /home/username/public_html/test.php on line 15
    Fix the issues with this command line:
    Code:
    chmod go+w /home/username/public_html/test.png

    Function 2 returns this:
    Code:
    Warning: mkdir(): Permission denied in /home/username/public_html/test.php on line 25
    Warning: file_put_contents(test.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/username/public_html/test.php on line 48
    Warning: file_put_contents(test.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/username/public_html/test.php on line 51
    Fixed the issue with this command line:
    Code:
    chmod g+w public_html/

    My Setup

    Command Line -
    Code:
    grep '' /etc/redhat-release /usr/local/cpanel/version /var/cpanel/envtype ; grep CPANEL= /etc/cpupdate.conf
    Returns -
    Code:
    /etc/redhat-release:CentOS release 6.9 (Final)
        /usr/local/cpanel/version:11.66.0.23
        /var/cpanel/envtype:virtuozzo
        CPANEL=release

    Command Line -
    Code:
    php -v
    Returns -
    Code:
    PHP Version 5.6.31

    Command Line -
    Code:
    mysql -v
    Returns -
    Code:
    MYSQL Version 5.6.37
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you know if a different PHP handler was enabled on the previous server? You can configure the default PHP handler for each version of PHP using the "PHP Handlers" tab in "WHM >> MultiPHP Manager". We document the permission and ownership requirements for each PHP handler at:

    PHP Handlers - EasyApache 4 - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. stapuff106

    stapuff106 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Chicago
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Where would I go in the old server Apache 3 to see what PHP handlers were enabled?

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. stapuff106

    stapuff106 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Chicago
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Michael -

    I appreciate the response back. That information was not on the server after I upgraded it to 4.

    Currently needed to give permissions at public_html level for every domain by command line.

    Thanks,

    stapuff
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,854
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    It's possible this relates to the "Enable File Protect" option under the "Security" tab in "WHM >> Tweak Settings". You can disable this option if you prefer, however we suggest leaving it enabled for the added security.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. stapuff106

    stapuff106 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Chicago
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I appreciate the pointer... will take a look at that setting.

    stapuff
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice