The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Server Setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tloosle, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. tloosle

    tloosle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need help with a new server setup.

    During the os install I give the server an ip.

    During the config wizard I use 2 external nameservers for the resolver.

    I then add 4 ips to the system.

    I try to assign two of them as the nameservers running on the new install. under DNS functions, nameserver ips. it first says its going out to look at whois and then asks for a nameserver to assign an ip.

    I enter the name or the ip and it always says your out ips to use as nameservers.
     
  2. qwerty

    qwerty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    having the same issue ... any way to manually add these?
     
  3. ChrisRHS

    ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Try checking:

    Disable whois lookups for the nameserver IP manager.

    In the tweak settings area. You also may want to check:

    Allow Sharing Nameserver Ips

    while you are in there.

    Chris
     
  4. panelgal

    panelgal Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am also having the same problem. Trying to find the nameserver for the IP server. I am also going to try the namesharing feature and see if that doesn't fix the current problem. It does seem that the more problems that are fixed another problem pops up!
     
  5. cPanelJared

    cPanelJared Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello:

    You can manually edit the data displayed in Main >> DNS Functions >> Nameserver IPs by disabling whois lookups for the nameserver IP manager (this is labeled Enable WHOIS lookups for the nameserver IP manager in 11.28) in Main >> Server Configuration >> Tweak Settings, then editing /etc/nameserverips from the shell.

    Please note that you do not actually need to set anything in Nameserver IPs in order to run your nameservers. This interface is for your information and reference only, and it does not change anything about how the DNS service works. The only thing that matters is that you configure the correct NS and A records in your domains' zones. It is possible to run nameservers without ever setting anything in the Nameserver IPs interface, and I have done so myself on several servers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page