The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New server transfer issue

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mk2mark, Mar 6, 2012.

  1. mk2mark

    mk2mark Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey guys,

    I'm having what I'm sure is a simple problem but I just am baffled. I have a server I'm replacing with a new server.

    Since both have the same hostname, even if I type in the new IP:2087 I get directed to the old server. How do I actually get into the new server to set up cpanel?
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,807
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. JayFromEpic

    JayFromEpic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Once you officially update your domains dns settings, you can access the new server with the hostname again.
     
  4. mk2mark

    mk2mark Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I understand that part, but is there any way to do it without doing that? I'd like to migrate my info across, then when the dns is changed the site will remain intact.

    Alternatively, is there an easy way to change the hostname on the new server, then change it back?
     
  5. ruzbehraja

    ruzbehraja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In your local machine hosts file, link the IP of the new server with the hostname.
    Hosts (file) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Be very careful when performing such operations, so that you don't make incorrect changes to the old server.

    Remember to remove the entry once you are done.
     
  6. mk2mark

    mk2mark Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Oh yeah that'll do it, had forgotten about that option - thanks a lot!
     
Loading...

Share This Page