The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new server - WHM reboots on login

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RIS, Mar 18, 2005.

  1. RIS

    RIS Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello. I am new to this forum.

    I just got a new virtual private server yesterday and it came with cPanel and WHM. Everything is working well, but I have a small problem with logging into WHM. When I login, for some reason a reboot occurs without me ever having clicked anything. Right after login, I get the menu on the left, and the content window on the right just shows "Reboot System" and the server reboots. There is no indication in any of the logs as to what caused the reboot. I would say it always seems to happen if I am logged out of WHM for maybe about a half an hour or more.

    Anyone see this before?

    Thanks,

    Brian
     
  2. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I've never heard of this happening, that doesn't mean to say it isn't common or hasn't happened though :)

    I think probably your vps provider would be able to help you out to find the cause of that one.
     
  3. Frankc

    Frankc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I also got precise the same problem as from a few days ago.

    Everytime I login to WHM the system show the reboot message and reboot.

    Even tried to clear internet cookies and files etc without any success.
     
  4. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    hi,
    Its possible some kind of "Browser Hijack" may be doing this. thoroughly scan your system for any spywares and trojans.

    Just an idea.

    See ya,
    mohit
     
  5. Frankc

    Frankc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the reply but I don't think so.

    That's a new server with new software installations and without any hosting activity yet. On my side it happens that I totally reinstalled my whole operating system week ago (even before server setup) and have latest anti-virus, firewall and anti-spyware programs installed.
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Since it's a new server I would suggest either logging the problem with cPanel or your cPanel license provider to investigate.

    A couple of things you could try:

    1. Use a different browser

    2. Use the non-SSL WHM port (2086) instead of 2087 or vice-versa
     
  7. Frankc

    Frankc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello Chirpy

    You are correct yes.

    Tried unsecure login and everything is fine.

    Just in case there is a problem with the Cpanel generated certificate I reset the certificate and tried to login again via https and got the same Reboot problem.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I've not seen that, but I have seen stunnel problems. You could try the following if you wish:

    rpm -e stunnel --nodeps
    /scripts/upcp --force


    If that doesn't help, I'd certainly suggest opening a support ticket with cPanel.
     
  9. Frankc

    Frankc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry but it's me again.

    With my previous post I changed the https ... to http ... on the IE6 address bar and then login without any problem.

    I decided to switch the favorities link to http but when try to login again got the same problem.

    Use Firefox in both http and https mode and login without any problem. (Several times)

    Internet Explorer 6 was updated recently to the latest version. I also download and installed 128 bit encryption for Windows 2000.

    I could be wrong but it seems it's either the latest IE6 or the 128bit encryption for Windows 2000 that caused the problem.
     
  10. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you accessing WHM from a bookmark? It's possible that you have bookmarked the "reboot" page in WHM. Try manually typing the address in your browsers address bar.
     
  11. Frankc

    Frankc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot

    (I now see that your username "Curious Too" suits you very much.

    The problem is now solved after I removed the bookmark, manually type the address to enter WHM and save it again.

    Seems that IE6 cached the reboot page despite the fact that I deleted the cookie, history and webpages several times.

    Regards

    frank
     
Loading...

Share This Page